PDA

View Full Version : Dreaded tables

web newbie
11-16-2009, 12:18 PM
I am fairly new to this whole web building thing (have designed them for a long time but only building them myself for a few months) and I need to ask a question (probably stupid) about the 'dreaded' table layout. I use Dreamweaver CS4 - should I lay out sites using just CSS or should it be a combination of CSS and tables??
I am totally confused as to how this works (I have searched threads on here about this, but can't really find an answer). I was setting up sites for some friends using tables to format it (and some css) and they were happy with the way it was working (coming up on 1st page of searches etc) but I have now been told that any table layout in a site will completely wreck it's SEO. So, should I just be doing full CSS sites and totally leaving tables out of it or not?? It is a steeeeep learning curve.:-D
By the way, I got a 'mediaroots' dreamweaver training DVD that was highly recommended to me and they build their sites using tables.....the mystery deepens.
Please help me, I'm desperate!

Corrosive
11-16-2009, 12:35 PM
It is actually really easy to distinguish what you should use where. Basically tables are for tabular data. I.e. anything you'd use a spreadsheet for if you were presenting it in Microsoft Office suite. Here, try this as a description;

http://webdesign.about.com/od/tables/a/aa122605.htm

WotNow
11-16-2009, 12:44 PM
Hi css if definitely worth the learning. You use css for all your layout and design and use tables when you have a table, by that I mean a block of content that is obviously rows and columns.

CSS has other advantages besides being seo friendly. You can use the same stylesheet across multiple pages, allowing you to make design changes globally. Save bandwith. If you use a stylesheet, the sheet will only be downloaded once while browsing a website. And it makes your pages less cluttered.

gentleone
11-16-2009, 12:50 PM
It's good that you asked it :)