PDA

View Full Version : Flash Satay


WotNow
11-03-2009, 08:17 AM
Hi all, have just finished reading an article re "Embedding Flash while supporting standards http://www.alistapart.com/articles/flashsatay. I was referred from the W3C validation service.

I further googled the subject and it seems no solution has been perfected?

If anyone knows how, I would like to be standards compliant. Thanks

edbr
11-03-2009, 09:41 AM
really? i thought swfobject made everybody toasty and mumsy

domedia
11-03-2009, 02:41 PM
I further googled the subject and it seems no solution has been perfected? Are you asking or saying?
I would look at swfobject as well, seems to work very well. 8)

WotNow
11-05-2009, 12:33 AM
Hi thanks for replying. I am asking. I have googled learning about swfobject and its very confusing. Can you guys help me out here, thanks.

WotNow
11-05-2009, 01:12 AM
Hi! I realised I should've added in some more information. I have been to http://code.google.com/p/swfobject/ and downloaded swfobject 2.2 and the swfobject generator.html zip.

I have opened both files in dreamweaver cs3 and it is at this point I am lost.

I have already embedded a swf file into my html page but when I went to validate it at W3C .. I was referred to swfobject and the more I read, the more confused i became. I have the barest knowledge of js. Thanks again for any help you can throw my way.

edbr
11-05-2009, 01:39 AM
blog.deconcept.com/swfobject/ - some examples

WotNow
11-05-2009, 03:27 AM
Hi! Thanks for that, link is obselete and gives no more step by step instructions than I have already read.

edbr
11-05-2009, 04:13 AM
you point a reference to swf object

<script type="text/javascript" src="Scripts/swfobject.js"></script>
then for example
<div id="banner">
<strong>You need to upgrade your Flash Player</strong>
<script type="text/javascript">
// <![CDATA[

var so = new SWFObject("images/yur.swf", "yur name", "600", "99", "0","" );
so.addVariable("flashVarText", "this is passed in via FlashVars"); // this line is optional, but this example uses the variable and displays this text inside the flash movie
so.useExpressInstall('expressinstall.swf');


so.write("banner");

// ]]>
</script> </div>

WotNow
11-05-2009, 04:28 AM
Thank you. This is the link to the index page that contains the flash player, http://www.kimberleywebdesign.com.au/CoolChange/index.html. It is the naming of the files that I am confused with. Is this generic code that can be used with all embedded flash in cs3?

edbr
11-05-2009, 07:02 AM
generic? no just an example but you can adapt it. name ? you mean where i have put
"yur name" call it what you want

WotNow
11-05-2009, 07:43 AM
Its the adapting bit I have problems with. This is my code:

<div id="slideshow">
<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','width','502','heigh t','352','title','Cool Change Gallery of Stockists','src','slideshow/slideshow','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash','base ','.','movie','slideshow/slideshow' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" width="502" height="352" title="Cool Change Gallery of Stockists">
<param name="movie" value="slideshow/slideshow.swf" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="base" value="." />
<embed src="slideshow/slideshow.swf" width="502" height="352" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" base="."></embed>
</object>
</noscript>
</div>
<!--end of slideshow-->

NOW IF I TYPE:

<div id="slideshow">
<strong>You need to upgrade your Flash Player</strong>
<script type="text/javascript">
// <![CDATA[

var so = new SWFObject("slideshow/slideshow.swf", "slideshow", "502", "352", "0","" );

so.addVariable("flashVarText", "this is passed in via FlashVars"); // this line is optional, but this example uses the variable and displays this text inside the flash movie
so.useExpressInstall('expressinstall.swf');


so.write("slideshow");

// ]]>
</script>

AND this in the head

<script type="text/javascript" src="swfobject.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
swfobject.registerObject("myId", "9.0.0", "expressInstall.swf");
</script>

Will it pass on the parameters that are defined in the old code?

edbr
11-05-2009, 08:00 AM
dont use the old code that is a different method of javascript

WotNow
11-06-2009, 03:09 AM
Ok I have posted twice, sorry. What do you mean dont use the old code???

edbr
11-06-2009, 07:16 AM
i mis read your post i thought you were using both methods, im old i dribble :)
it looks ok to me

WotNow
11-06-2009, 07:37 AM
I'm old too and I drool alot. What about the parameters that are in the old code?

edbr
11-06-2009, 07:59 AM
like this
so.addParam("wmode", "transparent");

WotNow
11-07-2009, 10:23 AM
??? Sorry dont know what you are doing there.

edbr
11-09-2009, 12:40 AM
What about the parameters that are in the old code?
old code
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
new code
so.addParam("wmode", "transparent");