PDA

View Full Version : SWF's appear twice after update to ie8

nadger
10-25-2009, 06:16 PM
I recently updated my browser from IE6 to IE8 and have noticed that all the swf's games i put on our site appear twice now.

heres the link (http://www.nhgfc.co.uk/15%20squares.html) to see what i mean,

its happened on all the games pages i've done. However when i open the html's in Dreamweaver there is only one on show as it should be.

Am i losing my marbles here guys?

regards
Neil

domedia
10-26-2009, 04:22 AM
It's twice in every browser.
First you have JavaScript write out all the code for you, and then you repeat it with normal code. Use a regular browser for previewing your website, not DW's design view.

nadger
10-26-2009, 07:23 AM
hi Domedia,

thanks for your reply. I have deleted one from each page and it seems to be working now.

Please could you explain to me what i did wrong. Im very new to all this and am learning as i go along.

When i first set up the games pages i opened my html file in DW and used Insert>media>flash then i selected the swf file for the game. They have been working fine on the site for the last 10 months or so and i've never seen this doubling up before?
Although i have just deleted one from each page which does get them working again, i cannot see the swf in the DW editting window. my question is.. how should i set these up from scratch for future reference?

Finally one last question if you dont mind: The noughts & Crosses game will not display when the page is loaded to my site no matter what i try. This particular game stopped displaying several months ago and i cannot figure out why. It does show in DW editting window and also when i click to Preview/debug in browser, but never in our actual site?

cheers
Neil

Corrosive
10-26-2009, 07:30 AM
I recently updated my browser from IE6 to IE8

Guys, this must be the last person out...can we switch off the lights on IE6 now please??