PDA

View Full Version : Stacking Divs


jk3000
10-23-2009, 11:25 PM
Here is my problem. I have 4 vertical rollover images placed next to 4 ap divs stacked on top of each other. I want to link the images to its corresponding div. In the properties inspector of the image I put the name of the div where it said link thinking that would work. I need to know if I can get the divs z index to change when i click my rollover

Corrosive
10-24-2009, 09:13 AM
From your description it sounds like you have four ap divs and they are all one on top of another so, if you look at the page, you will see only one. You want to show each one in turn when the link is clicked.

If I were you I'd look at DWs 'show/hide layer' behaviour. Click one button and you show that div and hide the rest. Click the next one and it shows that layer and hides the rest.

Ricky55
10-24-2009, 02:11 PM
If you are using CS3 or 4 you could also use Dreamweaver's built in Spry effects to achieve this, very much the same as Corrosives suggestion but you'll get a nice smooth animated effect.

Its the Appear / Fade Effect that you need.

Turn off the visibility of the divs that you don't want to show by default and then use the Appear / Fade to show them when you click the buttons.

DWcourse
10-25-2009, 03:50 AM
a link might help us understand the question

jk3000
10-25-2009, 05:42 AM
I could give one if i had it on a sever but right now its just on my HD

jk3000
10-25-2009, 06:28 AM
heres a pic of what im talking about

Corrosive
10-25-2009, 08:41 AM
Then I think the answers you have been given already should cover it.

jk3000
10-25-2009, 05:08 PM
do you know of any tutorials covering 'show/hide layer' behaviour. I have googled and youtube with no success

domedia
10-26-2009, 05:20 AM
This is not how you normally access content on a website.
Make a separate page for each nav item.