PDA

View Full Version : What languages should i try & learn

kearnsy
09-30-2009, 03:30 PM
I think i've caught the web design bug, but being a complete novice i'm often confused by all the different languages that you can use to build a website

the ones i've read up on that sound as if they'd be of use to me are: html, xml, actionscript, javascript & php mysql

php & mysql is probably the next one i'd like to learn about as i'd like to learn how to build a site like this one with a forum included, just for kicks really so i know if i ever need it in the future, i'd have some understanding of it

My question is, being a newbie, should i jump head first into learning the others or should i try and master one before moving on, or could i get by with knowing just enough of all of them?

domedia
09-30-2009, 07:21 PM
Kinda depends on what you want to do.. But if I understand right you want t be able to write some forum software?
In that case I suggest HTML->CSS->PHP&MySql->JavaScript

You don't need to be master in all before moving to the next one, but you need to grasp how to use the language.

thedon
10-02-2009, 05:12 AM
I have only been doing it for a few months. I think learning HTML and CSS first is the best way to go. Then when you understand how a website works better, then learn the rest. PHP will be next for me, looks pretty hard

edbr
10-02-2009, 05:23 AM
I have only been doing it for a few months. I think learning HTML and CSS first is the best way to go. Then when you understand how a website works better, then learn the rest. PHP will be next for me, looks pretty hard
agreed basics first, php and/ or javascript to follow and many would add flash then.

Corrosive
10-02-2009, 05:23 PM
Learn French...it is the language of luuuurve. ;)

domedia
10-02-2009, 05:31 PM
Learn French...it is the language of luuuurve. ;)You mean the language of Louvre? :mrgreen:

Corrosive
10-02-2009, 05:34 PM
You mean the language of Louvre? :mrgreen:

Ha ha ha, very quick Dom :lol: