PDA

View Full Version : Adding more than one style to a textarea

joholland84
08-31-2009, 03:50 PM
Hi there

I am new to using a textarea and im not even sure if that is the correct option for what I want to do! I have designed a small website for my Dad's business and I wanted to put some scrollable text onto one of the pages. Is textarea the best option for this???

If textarea is the best option then my main problem is adding styles to it. I am using Dreamweaver MX and I have easily added one style to my text however I cant seem to add more than one style to it... If this is possible what code do I need to enter and where should I put this code???

Many thanks and I look forward to your replies!!!

Jo

Corrosive
08-31-2009, 03:54 PM
A text area is a form element and probably shouldn't be used for this purpose. You really want a normal div with a specified height i.e. height: 300px; and then the property overflow: scroll; which will force scrollbars to appear when the content is longer than the height allows.

Seeing as the text will then be in a plain old div you can apply as many styles to it as you like using span tags.

Hope this helps.

joholland84
08-31-2009, 04:04 PM
Thanks for the quick response and help with that! Im just having a go at that now and will let you know if im still stuck!!!

Thanks again

Jo

joholland84
08-31-2009, 04:18 PM
Ok I am stuck!!!

This is what I have got which is basically a table I have made in the original website design which is inside a table and inside another table. Where do I need to put my code in the below???

<td width="631" valign="top"><table width="631" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="15" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td width="601" align="left" valign="top">

Corrosive
08-31-2009, 04:23 PM
Please don't take this the wrong way but you are stuck because you are using tables and inline styles. You should be building your website with divs and CSS. The div will hold the text, for example;