PDA

View Full Version : Link Problems


Letter A
08-26-2009, 03:02 AM
Eveytime i add links on my site that im trying to create, I have to go through this hell. Ill link up the image or text, then during previewing, or if I publish the site the link may work once but then if you click on it after that it just adds a hash mark to the URL. What im saying might make sense if you go to my site http://www.letter-adesign.com/Print1.html# Ive linked the MOTION, button to take you to the page containing my Motion work, it will work 1st time around but if you click on PRINT and try and return to the Motion page but for some reason it refuses to work. if you try and enter the page from my sitemap tho. It does work. The same thing happens from my LOGO page.

Please help im tearing my hair out trying to figure this out.

Heres the code from the Print page:
<div class="Leftsidebar2">
<p><a href="#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('HOME','','Letter A Logo Colour.jpg',1)"></a><a href="#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('HOME','','Letter A Logo Colour.jpg',1)"></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="http://www.letter-adesign.com/#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('HOME','','Letter A Logo Colour.jpg',1)"><img src="Letter A Logo.jpg" name="HOME" width="133" height="133" border="0" id="HOME" /></a></p>
</div>
<!-- InstanceEndEditable --><!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="MainBody2" -->
<div class="MainBody2">
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('Advertising','','Yellow Line.jpg',1)"><img src="Advertising.jpg" name="Advertising" width="258" height="62" border="0" id="Advertising" /></a></p>
<p><a href="Motion2.html"><img src="Motion.jpg" name="Motion" width="173" height="51" border="0" id="Motion" /></a></p>
<p><a href="Print1.html" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('Print','','Blue Line.jpg',1)"><img src="Print.jpg" name="Print" width="122" height="57" border="0" id="Print" /></a></p>
<p><a href="Logo1.html" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('Logo','','Pink line.jpg',1)"><img src="logo.jpg" name="Logo" width="144" height="41" border="0" id="Logo" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp; </p>
<table width="95%" border="0">
</table>
</div>
<!-- InstanceEndEditable --><!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="lEFT" -->
<div class="RightSidebar2">
<div id="apDiv1">
<p><img src="YMOTY Poster Flat.jpg" alt="Print 1" width="432" height="611" onload="MM_effectAppearFade('apDiv1', 2000, 0, 100, false)" /></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><img src="Back of Card YMOTY Web.jpg" width="508" height="319" alt="Business Card" /></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><img src="YMOTY Back of Card WEB.jpg" width="513" height="329" alt="Back Of business Card" /></p>
</div>
</div>
<!-- InstanceEndEditable --></div>
<span class="RightSidebar2"></span>
</body>
<!-- InstanceEnd --></html>

DWcourse
08-26-2009, 04:13 AM
The only link problem I see is with the advertising link which you have as # which is basically just an empty link.

Letter A
08-26-2009, 09:40 AM
Yer, that one hasnt been done yet. its still defunct. But did you try the link i posted. Despite that fact that everything seems fine to me. The other 2 links are still not working when I visit my site, if I try and get to the Motion.html page from my Print page or Logo page it just adds a hash symbol to the URL nothing else happens???
...Plus Link checker says all my links are OK. PLEASE HELP!!

Letter A
08-26-2009, 12:30 PM
UPDATE: Just tried my site on a friends Windows laptop, and everything was working fine so maybe this is a Mac issue or Safari/Firefox issue??? Anyone with Any ideas????

DWcourse
08-26-2009, 04:18 PM
Actually the problem is you have two separate Print pages (Print1.html and Print 1.html - with a space before the 1).

The Print 1.html page has the bad link to the motion page. Make sure your links on all pages point to Print1.html (no space) and that should fix at least that issue.