PDA

View Full Version : Flash Menu help


Rebelzource
08-19-2009, 02:41 PM
Hey!
I have been trying to make a menu in Flash for a website. Everything is working good, except for one thing. I am not sure how to explain my problem in the right way, but I will try.
First, here you have the link to the website, so it might be easier to understand what I am talking about: www.widescreenmedia.no (http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/www.widescreenmedia.no) (Norwegian site =/). You can see the menu on the left side, and if you try to click either "Pågående prosjekter", "Produksjoner i utvikling" or "Tidligere produksjoner" it is supposed to pop up a sub-menu under the one you clicked, and you can see that it does for about half a second before the page changes, and you are directed to the next page. It seems like the menu will go back to frame one every time the page reloads.
My question is, how is it possible to keep that submenu there even after the page has changed?

Here are the ActionScripts I use in the menu:
This one is basically the same for all my buttons, only changed frame and URL:
on (release) {
gotoAndStop(11); getURL("http://www.widescreenmedia.no/highlightongoing.html");
} This one I have for my first frame:
stop();I have all my buttons inside a movie clip, if that has anything to say.


Thank you,
Rebelzource

Corrosive
08-19-2009, 06:33 PM
Why are you using flash for this? CSS and maybe some javascript would do just as well for menus. Even *gulp*...Spry. (don't tell DWcourse I said that ;))

domedia
08-19-2009, 06:51 PM
Weejun site, nice! :p
I would ditch the flash menu all together. There is no justification for using it there. It's inaccessible for searchengines and all devices that do not have support for flash, disabled users, gadgets, cellphones etc etc.

DWcourse
08-19-2009, 07:30 PM
Just have to chime in and agree, there's nothing in that menu that couldn't be done with CSS.

Even *gulp*...Spry. (don't tell DWcourse I said that ;))
Don't think I didn't see this! :lol:

Corrosive
08-19-2009, 07:37 PM
Don't think I didn't see this! :lol:

Curses...foiled again.

http://www.rhodesfamily.org.uk/blog/2005/09/pix/dastardly.gif

Rebelzource
08-20-2009, 08:23 AM
Ok, guys, thanks, but still, I would be glad if you could help me out with my question, because I have no idea how to do this in CSS.. =S
I am still in the learningphase of everything that has to do with webdesign, and I am sorry if i seem a bit "choosy".