PDA

View Full Version : Uploading On Server Error?


youdw
08-10-2009, 11:15 PM
I set up everything correctly and was able to upload and view updates of my webpage, however, I had to restore my computer and so had to set up the whole connection between my server and Dreamweaver again, BUT now it's giving me this error each time I tried to upload/save my index.html from Dreamweaver.

What happened??? My server is able to do the FTP. I did several TESTS if I can connect to the server and it says it connects. But when I upload I get the error below:


Connected to Folder.
index.html - error occurred - An FTP error occurred - cannot put index.html. Access Denied. The file may not exist, or there could be a permission problem.

File activity incomplete. 1 file(s) or folder(s) were not completed.

Files with errors: 1
index.html

DWcourse
08-10-2009, 11:20 PM
Check to make sure you have the Host Directory correctly set in your Remote Site definition.

youdw
08-11-2009, 01:26 AM
didn't fix the problem. Is there another suggestion?

DWcourse
08-11-2009, 02:08 AM
Well if you can connect but have a permissions issue it's either:

1. a misconfigured server which you'll need to talk to your host about (although this seems unlikely since it was working before you restored.

2. you've run out of space on the server (again unlikely but possible)

3. You're trying to put files into the wrong directory on the server which means you've got the Host Directory set incorrectly (which you claim you don't). When you connect to your server, what do you see in the Remote Site portion of the Files window? It should be a mirror of your local site. If you see stuff like httpdocs, www or public_html directories, it's set up wrong.

My bet is still number 3 but you might want to check with our hosting service about 1 and 2.

youdw
08-11-2009, 02:54 AM
Thanks I will look into what you advised. Both my remote and local files are the same. I didn't put anything different from what I did the first time. Very strange. What is usually the Host Directory? Currently I have www

DWcourse
08-11-2009, 02:56 AM
Both my remote and local files are the
same.

Then it's time to check with the host.

edbr
08-11-2009, 03:34 AM
im sure you checked, but is the chmod coredt for the folder and file

youdw
08-12-2009, 03:11 AM
Believe it or not, it ended up being the host on their end. So now all is fixed. This is 2nd time they went out on me. I want to thank you for your help. It's something to look out for in the future in case this happens again.