PDA

View Full Version : Looks Fine in IE ok, But Firefox Displays "Javascript" at Top of Page


joesp
08-06-2009, 08:46 PM
To begin, I realize there are probably 30 things wrong with this site. I'm very much a newbie.

The biggest problem at the moment appears that the single column standard template I started with in DW, seams to be creating a problem in Firefox. In Firefox the text <%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%> displays at the top of the page. I realize this is in the code, but why is it displaying? It has created an issue with an obsolute position of my nav bar, and pushed everything else down.

The second issue is why doesn't the maincontent background extend behind the text like it does in IE? I want the container to be a constant 800x600 unless the content in the mainContent div extends beyond. It seems to work just fine in IE, but not Firefox.

The simpleViewer gallery doesn't load in Firefox either?

Any help would be appreciated.

http://www.115main.com/

DWcourse
08-06-2009, 10:17 PM
So delete the line
<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%>

From the top of the code.

joesp
08-07-2009, 03:31 AM
The second issue is why doesn't the maincontent background extend behind the text like it does in IE? I want the container to be a constant 800x600 unless the content in the mainContent div extends beyond. It seems to work just fine in IE, but not Firefox. (Now that I removed javascript, it doesn't work in IE either.)

The simpleViewer gallery doesn't load in Firefox?

edbr
08-07-2009, 04:14 AM
you dont have to delete the javascript . <%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%>was not the javascript

joesp
08-07-2009, 12:10 PM
Any idea what the problem is?

joesp
08-07-2009, 03:08 PM
Fixed the <

domedia
08-07-2009, 03:59 PM
The background stops because you told it to only be a certain height:
.oneColElsCtrHdr #mainContent {
background-color:#333333;
height:430px;
padding:20px;
}
www.115main.com (line 49)


Remove the height and you should be fine.

joesp
08-07-2009, 05:05 PM
Thank you.

Removing the height does fix one part of the problem. Is there anyway to have the fixed height (430px) all the time and only allow it to expand if there is a need for more content? I know I could do this with scrolling text container(?), but I'm not a big fan.

edbr
08-08-2009, 01:08 AM
i guess you could put an spacer image into the containing div 1px x 430px,
to be honest i never thought about it before