PDA

View Full Version : Page rendering as image in firefox...


pavid
08-06-2009, 06:09 PM
Hi,

pretty much finished a site i am working on.

compatibility is getting there...

but when i view it in FF on mac, the links do not work, and you cannot highlight the text. almost as though it has been rendered into a static image... very strange.

does anyone know if this is a usual bug?

i thought i could be just mine, but a friend said it aswell.

any help would be great!

thanks a lot

dave

ps, if anyone sees any other problems when viewing it, please let me know. cheers

Corrosive
08-06-2009, 06:19 PM
Link would be helpful ;)

pavid
08-06-2009, 06:37 PM
ohh yeah, sorry! haha

not with it today...

http://www.davidpullen.co.uk (http://www.davidpullen.co.uk/)
(http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/www.davidpullen.co.uk)

Corrosive
08-06-2009, 06:42 PM
Hmmmm. It does the same thing in Firefox on PC as well. It could be something to do with the frames but I can't see anything in your code that would cause this...very strange!

pavid
08-06-2009, 06:47 PM
i right clicked on the text and you can select it all from there, so it is definitely text. but something isnt working...

so frustrating

please could you check it in IE on pc, see what happens? cheers

Corrosive
08-06-2009, 06:50 PM
IE on PC is fine. Just the fox then... Never heard of this issue before.

DWcourse
08-06-2009, 06:57 PM
Could be fire fox punishing you for using frames :mrgreen:

Why frame the page anyway?

I do see a couple issues with your frameset page:
You didn't close the html tag
You didn't wrap the noframe content in a body tag (<noframes><body>content</body></noframes>)

pavid
08-06-2009, 07:10 PM
i didnt think i used frames??

just used divs, and one ap div...

unless i dont know what frames are. lol

and was the <noframes> a joke? haha. hard to tell! if so, i fell for it. if not, it makes everything go. haha

and on my code, it looks like the html tag is closed?

cheers for the coments!

any comments of the page as a whole?

thanks

Corrosive
08-06-2009, 07:20 PM
When you load your page up it is displayed in a frame...Must be your hosting. I thought it was a bit weird.

pavid
08-06-2009, 07:25 PM
how can you tell it is opened up in a frame?

does it look like it is a frame in the code?

d a v e
08-06-2009, 07:33 PM
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
<html lang="en">
<head><title>David Pullen</title>
<meta name="Keywords" content="David Pullen, Art"><meta name="Author" content="David Pullen"><meta name="Description" content="David Pullen"></head>
<frameset rows="100%">
<frame title="http://andrew.pullen.users.btopenworld.com" src="http://andrew.pullen.users.btopenworld.com" name="mainframe" frameborder="0" noresize="noresize" scrolling="auto">
<noframes>Sorry, you don"t appear to have frame support.
Go here instead - <a href="http://andrew.pullen.users.btopenworld.com">David Pullen</a></noframes>
</frameset>

DWcourse
08-06-2009, 07:43 PM
Yes, the link you posted http://www.davidpullen.co.uk/ frames the page at http://andrew.pullen.users.btopenworld.com/.

Is that free hosting?

pavid
08-06-2009, 09:32 PM
ahh really?

its just some hosting my dad had from bt.

just trying it out.

u think it could be that? they just got hosting from 123 reg, so itll be on there soon.

the only thing is, when you preview it on firefox from DW, it does the same...

cheers for your help, really appreciate it!

DWcourse
08-06-2009, 10:05 PM
No, that would have been too easy. I looked at the page outside the frame and ran into the same issue.

pavid
08-06-2009, 10:38 PM
yeah, thought so, haha

it is now up on lawrencelemmy.co.uk

same problem.

worth it to email mozilla you think?

pavid
08-09-2009, 06:59 PM
sorry to bump this back up again,

but i have made no progress what so ever. ha

anymore thoughts?

cheers!

Corrosive
08-09-2009, 07:07 PM
I have run your CSS through the validator...Congratulations!! You passed! I also ran your HTML and 1 error, and that is only an alt on an image. I've looked through your code and can see no reason at all it is like it is in FF. Did you mail Mozilla? Maybe they can explain why cos I am stumped :confused:

domedia
08-09-2009, 07:35 PM
Mozilla is not going to help web designers develop their pages.
It's like emailing the Outlook team because you cannot spell the words in your email ;)
Find a bug in their software, and they're going to be interested.
Imho, but I could be wrong of course.

Solution:
Get rid of the frameset and make a regular webpage with regular hosting.

pavid
08-09-2009, 09:07 PM
ah i forgot email them, i will do, but as domedia said, i doubt they will care. ha

cheers for checking it. it is really puzzling! i really dont want to make the whole thing again! already done it twice...

it shouldnt be in a frameset and it is being hosted properly now... www.lawrencelemmy.co.uk (http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/www.lawrencelemmy.co.uk)

cheers!

domedia
08-09-2009, 11:27 PM
You have a negative z-index on the body tag..
I'm not going to ask what the logic was behind it, but i you remove it you should be fine. 8)

pavid
08-10-2009, 06:16 AM
perfect!!

thanks a lot.

ot works fine now. haha. no idea why it was there. probs just when i was trying to get things to work properly.

cheers, appreciate all the help!

dave