PDA

View Full Version : FLV to SWF


blimp
07-30-2009, 01:56 AM
I'm working on a website where the client wants the landing page (index.html) to start by having an animation that was created in After Effects, followed by a link beneath that says ENTER SITE.

What I'd like to know is if I'm going about this in the write manner.

First I created the animation in AF and exported it as an animation file. I then converted the ANIM using Adobe Media Encoder CS4 to a FLV.

Now:
1: Do I import the FLV in flash and add a preloader then publish it to a swf?

2: Or do I just insert the FLV directly in Dreamweaver?

I'm a little worried if I take the second option that viewers with a slower internet connection won't have the FLV load fast enough.

The FLV is 3.9MB in size fyi...

What would be the right way in doing this?

DWcourse
07-30-2009, 02:40 PM
You need to convert the file to an swf file for viewing online.

A flash animation of that size (although depending on your settings it might get smaller) will take a while to get loaded no matter what the connection speed and, in all likelihood, you'll loose a lot of people who won't wait.

I'd limit the flash to a banner or other small area and reduce the file size dramatically. That way users can view other content while waiting for it to load.

Generally large flash elements (or all flash pages) are a bad idea IMHO. If you do have a large slow loading flash file I'd recommend at least letting the user decide whether or not the want to view it.

domedia
07-30-2009, 03:27 PM
You need to convert the file to an swf file for viewing online. The FLV file needs not to be converted. What you need is a SWF file to play the FLV file. This can be done both in Flash and in DW.

Use the Media Encoder again to optimize the movie. +3 mb is too much.

DWcourse
07-30-2009, 06:50 PM
Domedia is absolutely correct. I was confusing my file formats.

edbr
07-31-2009, 02:23 AM
+3 mb is too much.
on my connection speed it would be waiting for more that 5 minutes, gone already long ago

Rob_Che
07-31-2009, 12:27 PM
on my connection speed it would be waiting for more that 5 minutes, gone already long ago

I have a flash movie embedded here using Flash's built in FLV player...

www.lincolnshire-bombers.com . . .

It's 4.9mb but loads pretty quick on 2mb... It's not integral to the page though so you can afford to wait... I'd like to know how fast it loads for other people though.

What speed are you on Ed? (not a drug reference)

Rob

edbr
07-31-2009, 12:29 PM
at the moment 2 kbs a fortnight i think. not a happy camper. broadband is ridiculous here and expensive

blimp
07-31-2009, 11:56 PM
I'd like to know how fast it loads for other people

Rob, I have an ADSL2 connection (10-20 mbs downloads) and found your flash video loaded instantly, having said that I did experienced your main background image to load a tad slow a little under 2sec.

I respect that all the moderators have advised me not to place such a large file as my landing page, but how do you tell this client otherwise.

Anyway I had great difficulty with this project, I found importing the FLV in flash and then trying to publish it to an SWF just wouldn't working. The published SWF with HTML worked fine when previewed from my desktop, but after uploading it to my server, the FLV wouldn't play EXAMPLE HERE. (http://blimpmedia.com.au/toniandguy)

So instead I created a div box in dreamweaver and embedded the FLV with a player (which only appears if you hover over the animation) and uploaded that. Worked perfect Check it out (http://blimpmedia.com.au/toniandguy2/)

Rob maybe you can help me out with doing this in flash the proper way? or should I purchase some Flash tuts.... out of a scale of 10, I'm about 4-5 with flash....

DWcourse
08-01-2009, 12:21 AM
It works fine here but I have a cable connection. I believe the FLV streams so that it doesn't need to wait for the whole file to download.

My advice was based upon some assumptions about the page that didn't turn out to be true.

Given the way you've used it (I have the option of playing it or not and I can turn the sound off) and the fact that the rest of the page is visible I'd say you've done a nice job with it.

Rob_Che
08-01-2009, 08:56 AM
It works fine here but I have a cable connection. I believe the FLV streams so that it doesn't need to wait for the whole file to download.
Yeah, that's how mine is set up. You're not waiting for 5mb to download before it starts...

Blimp... what version of Flash are you using?
Here's how to do it with CS4... (or rather how I did it... :))

1: File > Import > Import Video

2: Browse to the video (FLV) and select "Load external video with playback component" - This is Flash's built in player for web - Hit 'Continue'.

3: Choose your playback skin (You can choose none) and a background color. "Continue" "Finish"

4: Done. Easy yeah?

That should get you a player that will play the FLV as a stream...

Hope that helps...

Rob

domedia
08-01-2009, 05:47 PM
My experience is that the video can be any size basically. What normally needs to be looked at is the internet speed the user needs to have to stream it without constantly pausing and caching. For example the movie streams at 600kb/s and my connection might only be 512kb/s.

blimp
08-03-2009, 12:45 AM
What version of Flash are you using?

Hi Rob, I've been tinkering with Flash CS4. As per your instructions I followed them to a tea and now have a working version CLICK HERE TO SEE (http://blimpmedia.com.au/toniandguy3/)

I'm not sure if you or others are experiencing the same problem but when I click on the link and the video starts to play, it seems a little choppy on playback.

Any ideas as to why?

Rob_Che
08-03-2009, 09:23 AM
I think that looks good... Not juddery on my machine (5mb)...

Two (maybe three) things you need...
1: A way to by-pass it (text link)
2: A loading bar of some description - or a text disclaimer
3: A cookie set in PHP so it only shows for the first visit?

Great video though and not too long.

blimp
08-03-2009, 11:59 AM
Thanks for the pointers Rob...

My final working version is HERE (http://blimpmedia.com.au/toniandguy4)

What I did was re-encoded the FLV from 5.3mb to 2.5 and added a player and an enter button.

I'm working through some tutorials in how to make a preloader for it, so I should have that added within the week. Apart from that is there anything else you can pick up on?

domedia
08-03-2009, 02:26 PM
I'm not sure if you or others are experiencing the same problem but when I click on the link and the video starts to play, it seems a little choppy on playback.

Any ideas as to why?

It could be two reasons:

1. Your machines graphic capabilities is not that good. I don't think it's this since you work with video.

2. The video is streaming with too high quality. If the video needs to stream at 400kb/s and your internet speed is 300kb/s, you cannot successfully stream it without having moments where it loads. For anyone under 200kb/s it will be sort of useless. When you created the FLV movie, what streaming speed did you optimize it for?

blimp
08-04-2009, 12:13 AM
what streaming speed did you optimize it for?

As mentioned in my earlier posts, I've been using Adobe's Media Encoder to encode the .mov to .FLV.

These are snapshots of the settings I used for the 2.8mb FLV version:

http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/3424/81769257.jpg
http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/7669/98226941.jpg
http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/1426/16601508.jpg

Your machines graphic capabilities is not that good. I don't think it's this since you work with video

This just might be the case domedia. I have a 20" iMac with a built in video card

ATI Radeon x16000 I'll post a snapshot below of the specs.

I'll agree its not sufficient but will have to do, that's until I can convince the better half to buy a top end Mac Pro :mrgreen:

If the video needs to stream at 400kb/s and your internet speed is 300kb/s

The video isn't stopping and starting like a streaming or internet problem, it's when its playing back the camera looks like it skips frames (if that makes sense?) almost like it's the wrong frame rate.

blimp
08-04-2009, 12:14 AM
Graphics card specs....

http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/822/picture1hlx.jpg

domedia
08-04-2009, 03:51 PM
ok sounds like a hardware issue then.
One final question: do you know the original framerate? I often find I can take it down a little.

Changing framerates can have some weird side effects though. If you change the framerate, try to make it a divisible ration. So if original framerate is 30 fps, you can try to change it to 15fps. This will make a big impact on the FLV filesize.

Some more interesting details about framerates:
http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flash/learning_guide/video/part06.html

blimp
08-04-2009, 11:31 PM
Funny you mention that domedia. The animation was created in After Effects and my After Effects timeline was 25fps, however when I imported the Quicktime Animation file in Adobe's Media Encoder it showed up as 30fps. I'm not sure if media encoder is always set to 30fps and you need to change it with every encode or if my animation was actually 30fps.

How can I find out?

Do you know of a simple way to add a preloader? I believe there is software that will add a preloader to a FLV or SWF. I've only just got my head around Dreamweaver and didn't really want to spen another week trying to loearn the basics of flash :lol:

blimp
08-04-2009, 11:43 PM
domedia,

I took some snapshot of the inspector from the QuickTime player and the Adobe's Media Encoder. As you can see the Quicktime animation file has been exported at 25fps but when imported in media encoder it says 30fps.

http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/4435/picture1tra.jpg

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/3003/picture2ovz.jpg

domedia
08-05-2009, 05:27 PM
I'm pretty sure the media encoder defaults to 'same as source'