PDA

View Full Version : working from the office...?


djshongo
07-27-2009, 09:32 AM
Hi,

I've created a website from my laptop at home and uploaded it successfully etc..

All my files and folders are stored at home on my laptop, and i'm wondering, can I access my site from my office and update it etc.. Instead of having to wait until I get home everyday?

I access it at home via FTP username/password method.

Thanks in advance!

:)

edbr
07-27-2009, 09:39 AM
same deal use ftp and download a copy just be careful to update files on all computers you use

djshongo
07-27-2009, 10:04 AM
thanks edbr!

how do u mean download a copy?
just copy all my DW files from the server to my comp here in the office?

cheers

edbr
07-27-2009, 10:08 AM
yes that can work or kep a copy on a flash drive . what wever works best for you

djshongo
07-27-2009, 10:23 AM
gona try it now thanks!

djshongo
07-27-2009, 10:30 AM
does it matter that Im using DWMX at home and DW8 in the office?

djshongo
07-27-2009, 02:23 PM
I cant seem to connect to the server here at the office via FTP, could this be due to restrictions on my PC?

When i define the site in DW, and test connection it just says 'cannot make connection to host'.

Any ideas?

thanks

DWcourse
07-27-2009, 05:18 PM
remote set up should be the same at home and the office. If that's the case and you can't connect, it could be that your office has a firewall that won't allow you to ftp (ask the IT guy).

Corrosive
07-27-2009, 05:19 PM
Nearly all the companies I have worked for would never allow ftp to go through their firewall. Can't say I blame them really.

DWcourse
07-27-2009, 05:47 PM
Nearly all the companies I have worked for would never allow ftp to go through their firewall. Can't say I blame them really.
Good point but they might be willing to allow exceptions for one domain or IP.

Corrosive
07-27-2009, 06:12 PM
Or an SFTP account maybe?

djshongo
07-28-2009, 08:46 AM
Hi guys, yea looks like im restricted from accessing it that way via FTP :(

All i can do from the office is log onto my webhost control panel and make changes to the pages code directly, it's not ideal but will have to do me in the meantime.

Corrosive, whats an SFTP account?

Thanks :)

Ricky55
07-28-2009, 11:26 AM
Another really good service that I use is Drop Box.

https://www.getdropbox.com/home

This lets you designate a folder on your PC, Mac or Linux machine as your Drop Box, this is then seamlessly uploaded to the web, when you get home you fire up your PC and any changes you've made at work are there waiting for you.

Drop Box is free for 2Gb and to me its a god send.

Corrosive
07-28-2009, 11:45 AM
Corrosive, whats an SFTP account?

Thanks :)

Just a more secure version of FTP