PDA

View Full Version : Is this page standards-compliant?

Interstellar Icon
07-27-2009, 06:15 AM
Hi All,

I'm developing a website for a new client, and I'm considering using a format, for some of the pages, similar to this page: http://chiropracticforprevention.com/individualized_treatment.html. In particular, I'd like to use an interior scroll bar, as it would work well based on the design I've created. But I want to make sure it's standards-compliant, so...here are my questions:

1. Is this page standards-compliant? It doesn't validate with W3C for HTML 4.01 Transitional, but I know that doesn't necessarily mean it's not compliant. It does validate for CSS level 2.1.

2. When I look at the source code, I see both tables and divs. I'm still a novice with web design, but I'm used to seeing one or the other. Can anyone give a quick explanation as to what they're doing, and if it's up to snuff?

3. I also discovered that none of the text within the interior scroll area appears in the source code. Where would this content be if it's not in the source code? Perhaps somewhere in the CSS code? (I looked in the main_style.css sheet, and it's not there.)

Thanks in advance for any input you can provide. :-D

Sam

edbr
07-27-2009, 06:28 AM
they are using iframes for that content

Corrosive
07-27-2009, 06:29 AM
1. Is this page standards-compliant? It doesn't validate with W3C for HTML 4.01 Transitional, but I know that doesn't necessarily mean it's not compliant. It does validate for CSS level 2.1.

Hi Sam

The page doesn't even have a doctype so, no, it is not compliant. Compliance isn't everything though.

2. When I look at the source code, I see both tables and divs. I'm still a novice with web design, but I'm used to seeing one or the other. Can anyone give a quick explanation as to what they're doing, and if it's up to snuff?