PDA

View Full Version : How to Update Remote once Change is made in Local ?


Rajweb
07-20-2009, 12:31 PM
My site is on a server and working well.

In my Files I have a styles.css file

I have change the background color in the styles.css file using the DW text editor and saved it.

How to Update the Remote File once Change is made in Local ?

Update just this 1 styles.css file

so I can see the color change in my browser :)

all help/info appreciated

:)

Corrosive
07-20-2009, 12:33 PM
My site is on a server and working well.

In my Files I have a styles.css file

I have change the background color in the styles.css file using the DW text editor and saved it.

How to Update the Remote File once Change is made in Local ?

Update just this 1 styles.css file

so I can see the color change in my browser :)

all help/info appreciated

:)

Just open your new styles.css and select 'save to remote server' job done.

DWcourse
07-20-2009, 01:33 PM
Or select the file in the Files window (menu: Windows>Files) and hit the Put File(s) button (the up arrow in the toolbar at the top of the Files window.

Rajweb
07-20-2009, 01:47 PM
Hi Corrosive :)

Just open your new styles.css and select 'save to remote server' job done.

Tried this yet did not change my colors, DW said File Put ok, yet apon refreshing in my browser no change

so I went to my Hosting Site and edited the color, instant site color change upon refresh

I will now try the DWcoarse method

would like to do editing from DW

DWcourse
07-20-2009, 01:57 PM
Are you sure you've got your site defined correctly?
Did you refresh your browser after the upload to make sure you weren't seeing a cached version?

Rajweb
07-20-2009, 02:01 PM
Hi DWcoarse

ok just tried: Or select the file in the Files window (menu: Windows>Files) and hit the Put File(s) button (the up arrow in the toolbar at the top of the Files window.

that placed a 2nd styles.css on my Remote.....hmmmm :)

"site defined correctly" more details please

using Opera not sure how to clear cache, yet loaded it in Firfox also and no change to be seen

:) so my DW edits/changes not changing remote yet

YES YES it worked, DW saved a color change to Remote: Save to Remote Server

why it did not the 1st time ! ?? who knows

thank you for your speedy help

much appreciated

:) :)

Rajweb
07-20-2009, 02:50 PM
Just a note,

I set my Opera Browser to 5min Refresh and all is well

:)

domedia
07-20-2009, 05:44 PM
why it did not the 1st time ! ?? who knows You were seeing a cached copy of the page.
Turn your browser into development mode, turn off the cache.