PDA

View Full Version : layout gone wrong in IE6


JBD
07-11-2009, 09:35 PM
For some reason when viewed with explorer 6 this page changes layout though appears fine with other browsers:

http://jonballdesign.co.uk/home/caffegus/docs/index.htm

Originally I had a flash title as with the other pages on the website but when I replaced this with the new banner it has somehow messed up.

Please help as I cannot see anything obvious that I have done

I can post the css if needed...

many thanks!

JBD
07-12-2009, 04:14 PM
here is the css I hope this helps

JBD
07-12-2009, 10:54 PM
please can someone help? I'm really desperate to solve this issue.

Cary
07-14-2009, 04:05 AM
I can't see any difference in IE 6.

JBD
07-14-2009, 08:21 AM
this is how it should look:

http://jonballdesign.co.uk/home/caffegus/docs/index.htm

but see the attached file to see how it corrupts in IE 6

edbr
07-14-2009, 08:38 AM
i cant see any difference either , i used ie6 and chrome for comparison on xp

Corrosive
07-14-2009, 09:23 AM
i cant see any difference either , i used ie6 and chrome for comparison on xp

Yes, XP SP2 and IE6 here and I can see no difference at all.

JBD
07-14-2009, 01:55 PM
sorry the attachment didn't work, here is a link instead:

http://jonballdesign.co.uk/home/caffegus/docs/IE6view.html

I don't have access to IE6 but used www.browsershots.org to test it as my client was saying about the issue.

JBD
07-14-2009, 02:08 PM
This is how it should look:

http://jonballdesign.co.uk/home/caffegus/docs/Safariview.html

JBD
07-15-2009, 09:30 PM
anyone got any ideas on this?

DWcourse
07-15-2009, 10:06 PM
JBD, http://jonballdesign.co.uk/home/caffegus/docs/index.htm looks just like you want it to in IE6 from here.

Cary
07-15-2009, 10:59 PM
I was wondering why browsershots would show differently than what I and others are seeing in IE6. Unlike the picture you provided, the shot it produced for me looked fine. I can't really suggest anything because I can't reproduce the mangled display. IE 6 and 8 and FF 3.5 on Vista look the same.

JBD
07-15-2009, 11:09 PM
I've just noticed that yes it looks fine with this link:

http://jonballdesign.co.uk/home/caffegus/docs/index.htm

but the clients version is somehow corrupt:

http://www.caffegusto.com/index.htm

I thought I had both versions identical so I'm trying to compare them now to see where I've made the mistake... so far I can't see anything glaringly obvious.

Could it be the clients server?

JBD
07-15-2009, 11:35 PM
Problem solved, it seems that leaving in this bit of code somehow corrupted the layout in IE6

<!--<div id="sectiontitlehome">
<<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0','width','407','height ','173','id','Welcome_text','align','right','src', 'css/Welcome to Caffe Gustofla','quality','high','bgcolor','#b50f1b','na me','location_slide','allowscriptaccess','sameDoma in','pluginspage','http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer','movie','css/Welcome to Caffe Gustofla' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0" width="407" height="173"
id="Welcome_text" align="centre">
<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
<param name="movie" value="css/Welcome to Caffe Gustofla.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#b50f1b" />
<embed src="css/Welcome to Caffe Gustofla.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#b50f1b" width="407" height="173" name="Welcome_text" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" /></object></noscript>
</div>-->