PDA

View Full Version : problem updating php form to test server


deafboyzaudio
07-08-2009, 11:27 PM
ok i made this php form(dont even know what oho stands for but i made one) DW told me i had to make a test server to preview it so i did. now anytime i make changes on it in DW, i save them and then upload to the test server and..... nothing happens. the form goes unchanged despite my saved changes. just wonderin how i might go about fixin this, maybe some ideas on what to check. im real new at this but learnin as i go... I dont know exactly what specific info you guys need to diagnose but here goes....
the form looks like this...
.................................................. ..................................................
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>feedback form</title>
<link href="../style/form style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" /></head>
<body>
<form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="">
<table width="68%" border="3" align="left" cellpadding="3">
<caption class="formtitle">
Speak whats on your mind...
</caption>
<tr>
<th width="21%" height="30" class="formheader" id="form" scope="row"><p>Name</p></th>
<th width="79%" scope="row"><input name="nametext" type="text" class="formtext" id="nametext" size="65" maxlength="65" /></th>
</tr>
<tr>
<th class="formheader" scope="row">Location</th>
<th class="formtext" scope="row"><input name="locationtext" type="text" id="locationtext" value="" size="65" maxlength="65" /></th>
</tr>
<tr>
<th height="123" class="formheader" scope="row"><p class="formheader">Comments </p>
Suggestions
<p class="formheader">&nbsp;</p></th>
<th scope="row"><textarea name="comments suggestions" cols="62" rows="7" class="formtext" id="comments suggestions"></textarea></th>
</tr>
<tr>
<th class="formheader" scope="row"><p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>Check this out...</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p></th>
<th scope="row"><textarea name="check this out" id="check this out" cols="62" rows="7">Anything we should check out?
Put it down here.
</textarea></th>
</tr>
<tr>
<th height="27" class="formheader" scope="row">E-mail</th>
<th class="formtext" scope="row"><input name="emailtext" type="text" id="emailtext" value="" size="65" maxlength="65" /></th>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</body>
</html>

.................................................. .................................................. ....
i had a hard time gettin the test server set up so maybe the problem is there???? heres how my setting look>>
http address is link removed with a phpsql server technology. i have the option to edit locally and then upload to remote testing server checked. i told it to save files at a test folder in my website folder(dont know if its the root or not, i think it is) connecting through ftp at deafboys.net, storing in a /test/ folder. a url of ink removed (http://deafboys.net/) is used to navigate to the root of thee site.................
thanks in advance for your help ppl

edbr
07-09-2009, 12:49 AM
try refreshing your browser first , it could be you are looking at cached pages if you have re saved the pages on your test server

deafboyzaudio
07-09-2009, 04:53 AM
nope that didnt change anything.... does it have to be saved as a template to be updated automatically? i wouldnt think so as its only the 1 page that needs to update

edbr
07-09-2009, 05:11 AM
the link you gave is just a list of adult sites so i deleted them.
i looked at the test folder you mentioned and it is blocked.
test your pages locally on your pc then see about uploading the complete pages. if you use a third party ftp like filezilla it will be clearer to see the folder structure

deafboyzaudio
07-09-2009, 04:11 PM
yea sorry about that, i cant be responsible for what my hosting company lets sponsor the webspace until i put my actual site on it. this is just a test site, my actual site is at a different address. and isnt a test folder supposed to be blocked to anyone except me, thats so i can preview it without it being on the web i thought. I do have filezilla so ill try that but im not quite sure what file structure i should be looking for, i guess ill just guess and check until i get it.

edbr
07-10-2009, 01:03 AM
yes i realised it was youtr hoster but couldnt see the point in have the links if we cant see anything.
i only mentioned filezilla as you could change the chmod of the folder, i thought that was an oversight.
if you still cant see any changes after browser refresh it sounds like the new page hasnt been uploaded, try uploading with filezilla again

deafboyzaudio
07-10-2009, 03:16 AM
ok i found a tutorial on how to do live view in dreamweaver that way i dont have to mess with the ftp test site sorta junk. solved the problem that way... on the same subject though.... that same tutorial told me how to send the form to my e mail and it doesnt work... can someone tell me why?
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"><!-- InstanceBegin template="/Templates/blank body.dwt" codeOutsideHTMLIsLocked="false" -->
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="doctitle" -->
<title>DBA Lap Top</title>
<!-- InstanceEndEditable -->
<style type="text/css">
<!--
#apDiv1 {
position:absolute;
width:200px;
height:115px;
z-index:1;
left: 27px;
top: 58px;
}
#apDiv2 {
position:absolute;
width:200px;
height:1956px;
z-index:1;
left: 20px;
top: 115px;
}
#apDiv3 {
position:absolute;
width:967;
height:110px;
z-index:2;
left: 20px;
top: 6px;
}
#apDiv4 {
position:absolute;
width:767px;
height:1954px;
z-index:3;
left: 220px;
top: 118px;
}
#apDiv5 {
position:absolute;
width:967px;
height:110px;
z-index:1;
left: -201px;
top: 1954px;
}
.sidebar_link {
font-family: Tahoma, Geneva, sans-serif;
font-size: large;
text-align: center;
}
#apDiv4 #image {
margin: 10px;
}
#apDiv4 #insertimagehere {
margin: 10px;
}
.body_image {
margin: 10px;
}
#apDiv6 {
position:relative;
width:660px;
height:220px;
left: 53px;
right: 53px;
top: 40px;
}
#apDiv7 {
position:absolute;
width:566px;
height:391px;
z-index:2;
left: 69px;
top: 334px;
text-align: center;
vertical-align: middle;
}
-->
</style>
<!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="head" -->
<link href="styles/formfieldlabel.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="styles/formtext.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<!-- InstanceEndEditable -->
</head>
<body>
<div class="sidebar_link" id="apDiv2">
<p><a href="index.html">Home</a></p>
<p><a href="pics.html">Pics</a></p>
<p><a href="video.html">Video</a></p>
<p><a href="about.html">About</a></p>
<p><a href="feedback.html">Feedback</a></p>
</div>
<div id="apDiv3"><img src="images/Top Banner skinny png.png" width="967" height="110" alt="banner" /></div>
<div id="apDiv4">
<div id="apDiv5"></div>
<!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="main body" -->
<form action="mailto:&lt;deafboyz_audio@hotmail.com&gt (%3Cdeafboyz_audio@hotmail.com%3E);" method="post" enctype="text/plain" name="form1" id="form1">
<div align="center">
<table width="50%" height="384" border="4" cellpadding="3">
<tr>
<th class="formfieldlabel" scope="row">Name</th>
<td><div align="left">
<input name="textfield" type="text" class="formtext" id="textfield" size="58" maxlength="53" />
</div></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<th width="24%" class="formfieldlabel" scope="row">Age</th>
<td width="76%"><div align="left">
<select name="select" id="select">


obviously i didnt include all of it bc i have a few drop down menus that take up a lot of room and i couldnt figure out how to do the scrolling code thing. i included past the e mail part though. thanks guys

edbr
07-10-2009, 03:23 AM
its not working because you are using a mailto: as the forms action, you need a mail sender/handler to send the mail. a php or perl usualy . there is a php mail sender in tutorials on this forum you could use

deafboyzaudio
07-10-2009, 03:39 PM
ok i looked at the tutorial and copied the code to my files, filled in the appropiate spaces and got it to send to me e mai. When i open the e mail it says "results from form:" and thats it, the rest is blank.... does this mean my web host (1and1) doesnt support pnp? i did have a form through them before and it worked fine... whats the issue... thanks

domedia
07-10-2009, 04:23 PM
ok i looked at the tutorial and copied the code to my files, filled in the appropiate spaces and got it to send to me e mai. Did you understand it?
When i open the e mail it says "results from form:" and thats it, the rest is blank.... does this mean my web host (1and1) doesnt support pnp? No, if your host did not support PHP it could not have made the email.
i did have a form through them before and it worked fine... whats the issue... You did something wrong, sorry :(