PDA

View Full Version : New problem - FTP error


opk
07-08-2009, 09:25 PM
Yet another problem ... I'm trying to synchronise sitewide to update my site and for hours what I get is : "an FTP error occured - cannot make connection to host. DW encountered a network or file system error (...)"
and "Toggling the 'use passive ftp' checkbox may help you establish a connection"

The problem persists ... Any suggestions???

http://opkworks.info/

Thanks a lot ...

edbr
07-09-2009, 12:59 AM
not sure but its not unusual for dw to spit the dummy when using ftp. i always use a third party ftp , in fact filezilla which is free BTW.
for me i prefer to test localy the upload when i am reasonably happy with the result, it also gives you better control on your server re folder changes and file permissions etc

DWcourse
07-09-2009, 01:51 AM
Was the ftp upload with Dreamweaver working previously for this site?
Can you upload a single file using Dreamweaver and then view it online?

opk
07-09-2009, 12:32 PM
not sure but its not unusual for dw to spit the dummy when using ftp. i always use a third party ftp , in fact filezilla which is free BTW.
for me i prefer to test localy the upload when i am reasonably happy with the result, it also gives you better control on your server re folder changes and file permissions etc

I tried with FireFTP but it won't connect. It says "530 Login authentication failed" (?) ... (when I try to connect to my previous free host there are no problems)




Was the ftp upload with Dreamweaver working previously for this site?

Yes. I had the same problem once or twice, but in the end I managed to connect. Now it seems to be permanent



Can you upload a single file using Dreamweaver and then view it online?


You mean sychronise a single file? I had the same results. It' s a mystery...

opk
07-09-2009, 01:02 PM
Ok, after trying from resterday again and again, now it connects without problem or delay!!

That means it was a host problem, doesn't it.

I hope it won't happen again (the problem lasted more than 20 h!)


Anyway, my only problem is that the site is a bit messed up... http://opkworks.info (http://opkworks.info)
The menu bar is stuck to the top of the page, while it's actual position is below the pic. Likewise, the (c) part was at the bottom etc etc. Is it something relative to positioning or such in DW that needs to change?

(should I have to open a new topic with this, just tell me so)

Thanks again so much!

DWcourse
07-09-2009, 02:21 PM
definitely sounds like a host issue, although if it's a brand new host it could have been an issue with DNS propogating.

Corrosive
07-09-2009, 09:46 PM
(should I have to open a new topic with this, just tell me so)



If you would please, yes. New problem = new thread...after searching the site for the answer of course :wink: