PDA

View Full Version : Issues with iframe targetting... pls pls help...

stevenradams
07-05-2009, 11:57 AM
Hello everybody,

I am a graphic designer trying to expand my offering, and am using DW to develop my own website to study and learn... so please don't wow me with code, as I'm better in design/split mode ;)

The issue I'm having seems sooo basic, but I just can't figure it out. Basically, I have a layout with a container div holding three divs in it for the navmenu, content and external links areas.

Everything is dandy, except for the targeting of the links. The content div contains an iframe which links should be loading content into, however half the time they just won't target it, and half the time they will.... some browsers do, some don't. It's driving me NUTS.

There is a (very) early page to view at www.adamsapplemedia.co.uk/home.html if that helps... it references external css files, but I don't expect that they are impacting upon this issue... maybe??

Any help would be reeeally appreciated.

Steve

P.s. don't pay any attention to the actual destination of the links... they are just reliable tester destinations.

d a v e
07-05-2009, 12:06 PM
why are you using an iframe?

stevenradams
07-05-2009, 12:11 PM
Simply because I'm creating menus/external link areas that'll update daily, and renewing them on every page would be a pain, no?

I looked at loading content directly into divs, however the only method I could find was using js, and that's still very beyond me. I'm a graphic designer using DW and split mode to learn the coding elements... I'm studying the code that is created automatically as I work, so that in time I'll be have far less dependency on WYSIWYG software, but I'm no where near it yet.

To be frank, even though I know iframes have their issues, now that I've come across the problem, solving it has become an obsession...

Corrosive
07-05-2009, 12:17 PM