PDA

View Full Version : Setting up an Alias


topdog
07-04-2009, 07:56 PM
I am trying to learn PHP & MySql using the videos by David J. I have set up an alias using wamp as http://localhost/WebDev/

How do I get DW (CS4) to use that when 'testing' a web page?

I have tried using http://localhost/ and the same with WebDev/ added in the site set up but it always goes to http://localhost/

Brian

fattat
07-06-2009, 05:21 AM
I am trying to learn PHP & MySql using the videos by David J. I have set up an alias using wamp as http://localhost/WebDev/

How do I get DW (CS4) to use that when 'testing' a web page?

I have tried using http://localhost/ and the same with WebDev/ added in the site set up but it always goes to http://localhost/

Brian

it need the software xamp to test it..

topdog
07-06-2009, 11:27 PM
I have that. Apache, PHP & Mysql is all installed and working correctly. If it type http://localhostWebDev/ in the locator the browser can find the required files. But from DW, if I F12 then it goes to http://localhost.

DWcourse
07-06-2009, 11:59 PM
then you've probably defined your testing server incorrectly in DW. Try changing the url prefix to [/URL][url]http://localhostWebDev (http://localhostwebdev/)

topdog
07-07-2009, 03:05 PM
Did that - it did not work however, the solution was in setting up the config file to mysql. Instead of using localhost, I used localhost/WebDev. Evderything OK now

Thanks to all who tried to assist

Brian