PDA

View Full Version : DIVs vs. Tables


dzwestwindsor
06-29-2009, 02:36 PM
i know how to do both, but sometimes i find tables easier to make and more flexible to adjust. however, im not sure which one i should stick to. right now my website has a container div, with a logo div and navigation bar div in it. then in the body, i have a bunch of tables.... is this a good way to design my layout? or should i go for 100% CSS?

domedia
06-29-2009, 03:42 PM
i have a bunch of tables.... is this a good way to design my layout? or should i go for 100% CSS?
You'll find that most people here would advice you to use web standards. :) (I hope 8) )
Don't use tables for layout.

dzwestwindsor
06-29-2009, 05:30 PM
ok so no tables at all? or can i stick one here or there? just tell me ur opinion

d a v e
06-29-2009, 06:11 PM
ok so no tables at all? or can i stick one here or there? just tell me ur opinion

"Don't use tables for layout." pretty clear?

Corrosive
06-29-2009, 06:23 PM
"Don't use tables for layout." pretty clear?

Agreed, tables only for tabular data. Pure CSS based layouts are always preferable. Are we still having this debate??

dzwestwindsor
06-29-2009, 06:40 PM
ok i geccha

kremo5le
06-29-2009, 11:07 PM
i know how to do both, but sometimes i find tables easier to make and more flexible to adjust. however, im not sure which one i should stick to. right now my website has a container div, with a logo div and navigation bar div in it. then in the body, i have a bunch of tables.... is this a good way to design my layout? or should i go for 100% CSS?

Tables are very useful for data presentation. Yes, you can use DIV tags and CSS, but it could become a big hard to do it, and this is what tables are for. For layouts, like the last post said, use CSS and DIV tags for sure.

Good luck!

k. :lol:

fattat
06-30-2009, 05:19 PM
div is faster than table..

kremo5le
06-30-2009, 09:53 PM
div is faster than table..

Div is faster, yet tables are still being used for multiple, tabular purposes. What do you think? :confused:

gigiloumill
07-06-2009, 03:01 AM
How do you start a div so to not use a table?

fattat
07-06-2009, 05:09 AM
Div is faster, yet tables are still being used for multiple, tabular purposes. What do you think? :confused:


but i found that most of the website using table loading will be slower..
table just suitable for creating form, because it easy for amend...

fattat
07-06-2009, 05:10 AM
How do you start a div so to not use a table?


hi, i also starting learning css
here the css website that you can download the css template
http://www.styleshout.com/free-templates.php
hope it help u..

Corrosive
07-06-2009, 11:37 AM
How do you start a div so to not use a table?

Insert >> Div Tag

gigiloumill
07-06-2009, 06:40 PM
Thanks Corrosive. However, I have tried divs and quite frankly I don't understand how this is easier than tables. I can't find a way to manipulate div no matter what i do it will not change in size or so on. any suggestions?

Corrosive
07-06-2009, 06:53 PM
Thanks Corrosive. However, I have tried divs and quite frankly I don't understand how this is easier than tables. I can't find a way to manipulate div no matter what i do it will not change in size or so on. any suggestions?

You control the div using styles in a separate style sheet. This is the basis of CSS. It separates content and style. That way the content just reads like a list in a load of tags and the styles (including instructions on where to position divs) are referenced from that separate page. Divs are harder to learn than tables, but if you have a site-wide style change to make, such as replacing an image or moving a block of text, then you can do all your pages by changing that one style. So, divs and CSS, once learned will save you hours of time! Plus it is much better for Search Engines.

gigiloumill
07-06-2009, 06:54 PM
Never mind. I got it. The only problem I am having now is that I can't figure out how to place div in the middle of the page.

DWcourse
07-06-2009, 07:03 PM
Check out centering a page layout (http://dwcourse.com/dreamweaver/centering-page-layout.php)

Ricky55
07-07-2009, 01:27 AM
margin: 0 auto;

dzwestwindsor
07-08-2009, 02:16 AM
margin- right (auto) left (auto) top and bottom w/e value u want. taht centers it

edbr
07-08-2009, 07:09 AM
margin- right (auto) not actual ode.
when you write values
margin: 0 auto 0 auto;
that reads(margins) top right bottom left

Corrosive
07-08-2009, 07:13 AM
not actual ode.
when you write values
margin: 0 auto 0 auto;
that reads(margins) top right bottom left

Welcome back Ed! :)

edbr
07-08-2009, 07:24 AM
Hi mate i brought some weather to UK while i was there, did u notice?

Corrosive
07-08-2009, 08:14 AM
Hi mate i brought some weather to UK while i was there, did u notice?

I did notice. You could have hung around and kept the rain off the ashes series!

dzwestwindsor
07-08-2009, 03:30 PM
lol i know i was showing him wat value to select in the drop down