PDA

View Full Version : Help__IE6 and my site


muddie1
06-16-2009, 10:20 PM
I am fairly new at websites, trying to make a site for my non-profit org (no $$ to hire a web guru).
I have created the following site and try to make it visible to IE 6 and later users but no luck.
The site is done with a few templates and I link the IE css in the head tag just like the other css. The templates are at the same level as my main pages but I then have many other pages buried lower than that. The pages on the same level seems to be displaying in IE 6 but not the ones buried lower. I also need help with the JS code for the dropdowns.
http://www.archbold-station.org/station

Thanks in advance

muddie1
06-17-2009, 12:47 AM
Don't know how to fix it though.

Here is the template code

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Archbold Biological Station | Conservation Biology | Lake Placid, Florida</title>
<link href="../assets/css/menu.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="../assets/css/layouts.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

<!--[if IE]>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="../assets/css/menu_ie.css" type="text/css" />
<![endif]-->

</head>

Now here is the code when I apply the template to a page

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Archbold Biological Station | Conservation Biology | Lake Placid, Florida</title>
<link href="../../assets/css/menu.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="../../assets/css/layouts.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

<!--[if IE]>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="../assets/css/menu_ie.css" type="text/css" />
<![endif]-->

</head>

notice the path statement changed for the two CSS but not for the one that's related to IE.

DWcourse
06-17-2009, 03:22 PM
In the template make that one link relative to the site root "/assets/css/menu_ie.css"

muddie1
06-17-2009, 04:06 PM
Sweet, thanks. That was easy.
Is there anyway I can get you to assist with the JS. The menus aren't dropping in IE6.

Thanks again

DWcourse
06-17-2009, 04:34 PM
Actually it looks like you might not be not using templates correctly. In Dreamweaver the templates go in the Templates directory. Nothing else should be in that folder.

muddie1
06-17-2009, 04:38 PM
I only have templates in the template directory.