PDA

View Full Version : Positioning nightmare

mouski
06-16-2009, 04:13 PM
Hi, I am fairly new to DW, I am designing a super simple site but I am having trouble centering my texts to the navigation bar so that it looks consistent whether you view it in IE, or Safari or whatever.Check it at
www.rayank.co.uk (http://www.rayank.co.uk)
Look at the about me section, the text is off-center...

Any help would gr8

thanks

domedia
06-16-2009, 05:34 PM
Just follow the same approach you did with all the other elements on the website. This is the only element on the website you have not centered.

ravm
06-16-2009, 05:36 PM
I looked at your site and it looks good in both IE and FF on a PC. I don't have access to my Mac right now, so I can't comment there. Small discrepancies in your website between different browsers is probably okay, since people generally will never know the difference between two browsers.

However, if you're a perfectionist like me, I'm sure you'll want to play around with the code a bit, to um, get it perfect. So...

Looking at the source code of your site, it looks like you're using two things for the alignment of your images. The first is a div tag with align=center. The second is hspace and vspace. Although widely supported, these are generally considered deprecated. So I would suggest using CSS for the alignment, if you want to go there. It looks like you have a style sheet now, so what you would do is remove the align=center from your div and give your div an id. Then add some style to your style sheet. As an example, you could use the following code.

<div id="mainimg">Then put the following in your style sheet:
#mainimg {margin-right:auto;margin-left:auto;width:800px;}You would need to change the width to whatever the width of your page is. That's really just a start; you may need to make additional changes to customize it for your website.

Best of luck,
<link removed>

ravm
06-16-2009, 05:53 PM