PDA

View Full Version : centred tables and div tags don't line up?

whitedragon101
06-15-2009, 10:28 PM
Background

I am just learning Dreamweaver and so have followed all the beginners tutorials recommending using tables to layout the page. But I do want to use Ap Divs as well.

I created an example of the problem below.

The Problem

When I select my tables to be centred on the page the Ap Divs still use the left hand side as the absolute reference for their position. So when designing the page placing the AP Div on the far right of the screen on the page is the only way I can get it to appear centred in the browser. But obviously that's a bodged solution as any scaling of the window will mess the whole thing up.

Is there any way to get the Ap Divs to work with a page layout based on tables?

Sample code

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
#apDiv1 {
position:absolute;
left:347px;
top:105px;
width:450px;
height:307px;
z-index:1;
}
-->
</style>
</head>

<body>
<div id="apDiv1">
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<table width="300" border="0" align="left" cellpadding="4">
<tr>
<td bgcolor="#CCFF33">this</td>
<td bgcolor="#CCFF33">is</td>
<td bgcolor="#CCFF33">a</td>
</tr>
<tr>
</tr>
<tr>
</tr>
<tr>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<table width="888" height="446" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="4">
<tr>
<td width="202" bgcolor="#3366FF">hello i am some text</td>
<td width="664" bgcolor="#33FFCC">&nbsp;</td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>

DWcourse
06-16-2009, 02:39 PM
Sorry, but those tutorials must have been old. Designing with tables isn't considered good practice anymore. Use CSS positioining.

AP (absolutely positioned) Divs align relative to:

The browser window (what you're seeing) OR