PDA

View Full Version : css drop down menu


richcodesign
06-10-2009, 08:08 AM
Hello all,

Can someone tell me how i can get a text that is in a css dropdown menu bar to go onto 2 lines.
eg:

Architects &
Specifiers

Because it is too long to fit on one line without text being cut off

edbr
06-10-2009, 08:36 AM
limit the width or add <br> where you want the break i would guess

kcmartz
06-10-2009, 03:01 PM
That would work, or (as far as I know, it works)

add:
&10;

and I found this out, it might also help:
1) Switch to the Characters tab on the Insert menu and click on the line break icon.
2) Go to the Insert menu, choose special characters, and then choose "Line Break".
3) Hold down the shift key as you press Enter (Shift-Enter).

richcodesign
06-10-2009, 03:55 PM
Yeah... Ive tried that <br> and it put the text on the line underneath but didnt move the rest of the menu options down. So now it just sits over another menu option (if that makes sense).

I guess this may be put down as one of those... CANT BE DONE files

domedia
06-10-2009, 08:23 PM
I guess this may be put down as one of those... CANT BE DONE files Bollocks 8) Do you have a link?

richcodesign
06-11-2009, 07:41 AM
i like your determination!

Sorry, no link as yet. Still in the begining stages of development.
Im still rather new when it comes to CSS menus, mainly due to the fact that spry is terrible and never works, so i had to change my tatics.

edbr
06-11-2009, 09:56 AM
yes im not a fan my self but it should be possible with tweaking the css

DWcourse
06-11-2009, 01:38 PM
if you defined a css height for the links then that may be causing your issue. The Spry menus in DW allow the height of the links to be determined by the text size and padding of the link.