PDA

View Full Version : host name


wayne78
06-09-2009, 10:31 AM
hi all i have set up my own web server at home and i am using apache with xampp for my server software.
when i upload the website using FTP with dreamweaver it asks for a hostname or FTP address for the webserver...could anyone please tell me where i can find this.

thanx

edbr
06-09-2009, 10:36 AM
localhost?

wayne78
06-09-2009, 10:41 AM
thanx for the reply..as you may have guessed im still learning!

have you any idea what i put for the FTP loggin and password?

DWcourse
06-09-2009, 02:02 PM
If the server is on the computer you're working on, why do you need to use ftp? Use Local/Network in the remote set up. And if the local server is for testing, then consider defining it as the Testing Server rather than the Remote Server.

wayne78
06-09-2009, 02:27 PM
i have a new dilemma i have uploaded the website to the server dreamweaver says all ok and that it is connected but when i try to goto the website from another pc it just go's to the domain name company....any ideas why?

DWcourse
06-09-2009, 05:14 PM
i have a new dilemma i have uploaded the website to the server dreamweaver says all ok and that it is connected but when i try to goto the website from another pc it just go's to the domain name company....any ideas why?
You mean the domain of the hosting company, the domain registrar or ???

A link might help.

wayne78
06-10-2009, 05:52 AM
it just go's to 123REG where the domain name was registered..instead of the website:(.

edbr
06-10-2009, 06:01 AM
have you added an index page yet?

Corrosive
06-10-2009, 07:00 AM
it just go's to 123REG where the domain name was registered..instead of the website:(.

This could be a number of things:

If your domain and hosting are at 123reg then check that the new domain has propagated around the web. This can take up to 72 hours so, if the domain name is newer than that, it may just be a matter of time.

If your domain and hosting are separate then you need to make sure that the tags at 123reg are pointed to your nameservers. This is info your hosts will provide.

Or, you don't have an index page as Ed says.

MagicPower
06-10-2009, 10:22 PM
Wayne i'm sorry for being a spoiler or for any one that may b offended. my experience with 123 reg was not good i still got my hosting with them but i had to relocate because they don't support php, asp, et al. my rating for 123 reg is very low.