PDA

View Full Version : Page not showing up?????


thunderchild
06-04-2009, 11:19 AM
I have designed an new intranet page for out website, we are not having a link to it from the main site as we want it to stay "hidden" so our staff are to type in the address to get to it. I have copied all the files to the remote server and I beleive in the correct palce but when I type the address I get the 404 error message and I am told the file is not found.

The files have been save at the same level on the server as other files, when I type their full address in I get there page show up.

Anyone got any ideas why my page wont show? :confused::confused::confused:

As you can tell I'm a bit of a noob, sorry for my ignorance!

edbr
06-05-2009, 12:43 AM
difficult t say from this what is the name of the pages?
so now if you type http:/localhost/site/index.html (htm, php whatever the real path is you get a page right?
but when you type http:/localhost/site/new_page.html you c don't
first, check the extension .htm etc check there are no blanks in the page names

DWcourse
06-05-2009, 01:52 AM
Did you define the remote site correctly in Dreamweaver? If so, when you connect to the server do you see the files that you are able to access?

thunderchild
06-05-2009, 09:45 AM
Yes the site is defined correctly, checked all that. The files can be viewed on the server too and are in the same files as the addresses I can bring up when typing the address. I can view www.linford.com/build.html but get an error when viewing www.linford.com/staff.html.

Do you think it could be due to permissions on the server the files are loaded to? I have checked form my laptop at home typing the address in and still get the error.

Think I will email IT and have them look at it too.

edbr
06-05-2009, 10:12 AM
if you can see the file on the server make sure they are CHMOD 644, but ususally you get a different warning if thats the case

edbr
06-05-2009, 10:14 AM
http://www.linford.com/staff.php shows though

thunderchild
06-05-2009, 10:20 AM
Yeah I know, they have now given me the login details for the live site not the development site!!!

Thanks for looking anyway.