PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Uploading Image


frankmoncrief
06-02-2009, 09:58 PM
Dear Forum:

I am using Dreamweaver CS4. I recently bought a web template off the internet, and am modifying it. I cut some images out of it, and inserted some images. They display in Dreamweaver. They were automatically copied to my root directory, but when I PUT the pages to my site, it doesn't upload the image files. Any idea what's wrong?

Thanks!
Frank Moncrief

rico1931
06-02-2009, 11:53 PM
make sure they are linked properly in your template

frankmoncrief
06-03-2009, 12:14 AM
What do you mean by "linked" in the template?

I've tried synchronizing my site, but it won't work. It gives me a dialog box stating that the images I'm trying to put on my site were not sent.

Thanks!
Frank

rico1931
06-03-2009, 12:19 AM
linked meaning if you use a background img the path name should be something like

background-img:url(/imagefolder/imagename.jpg);
now what are you doing are you FTP them up to your site or what using godaddy etc

Edit: Also make sure they are first saved to your local drive or manually put the images to your remote server.

edbr
06-03-2009, 12:42 AM
a commo mistake is not defining a suite and your links will point to a place on your computer as in <img src="c"/my documents....." as rico says. look in code or split view to see how they are coded

frankmoncrief
06-03-2009, 07:25 PM
I'm new to Dreamweaver and am moving too fast. I bought a template, and the designer has the html files in the root directory, and in that directory he has a folder called images. However, when I put a new image in the site, it saves it into the root directory with the html files, not in the images folder. Is there a way for me to tell Dreamweaver that graphics are in the images folder, not mixed in with the html files?

Thanks!
Frank

DWcourse
06-03-2009, 08:47 PM
I'm new to Dreamweaver and am moving too fast. I bought a template, and the designer has the html files in the root directory, and in that directory he has a folder called images. However, when I put a new image in the site, it saves it into the root directory with the html files, not in the images folder. Is there a way for me to tell Dreamweaver that graphics are in the images folder, not mixed in with the html files?

Thanks!
Frank
If I understand you correctly, when you define your local site you need to point "Default images folder" to the folder called (naturally enough) images.

frankmoncrief
06-04-2009, 04:41 PM
Thanks for input. I understand dreamweaver needs to identify the images folder.

To solve the problem, I realized the original images work fine, so I put my images in the image folder, and gave them the same naming convention that the template designer used, in this case, page1-img1.jpg, etc, and it worked. I can synchronize and put the images to my hosting account. Any idea why this is so? Is there some way to instruction Dreamweaver to only recognize images with a certain naming convention.

Thanks!
Frank

BTW: does your rank indicate the time you've participated in this forum?

DWcourse
06-04-2009, 06:11 PM
Actually defining the image folder is optional. If identified that's were Dreamweaver will offer to move images if you try to link to images outside your site folder.

If you were using a template, then only the images used in the template are going to work. If you want to change images you'll need to either:

1. Make sure the new images have the same name as the old images (which you did). OR
2. Replace the old images with the new images.

Naming conventions have nothing to do with it.

frankmoncrief
06-04-2009, 07:54 PM
Thanks for input. I got the images working.

Here's my next problem. The developer has wrappers in which images and text are displayed. The wrappers are small and centered. I want to be able to change the location of images and text. But when I highlight the wrapper, I can't move or resize it. Documentation and a book I bought don't tell me anything about wrappers.

1. How can I change location and size of wrapper?
2. If I can't, can I delete the wrapper, and create a new one, or put in text and images without a wrapper?

Thanks!
Frank

DWcourse
06-04-2009, 07:58 PM
Assuming the wrapper divs are sized and positioned using CSS styles, you'll need to edit the CSS. That's a little much to explain here.

Corrosive
06-05-2009, 06:26 AM
Thanks for input. I got the images working.

Here's my next problem. The developer has wrappers in which images and text are displayed. The wrappers are small and centered. I want to be able to change the location of images and text. But when I highlight the wrapper, I can't move or resize it. Documentation and a book I bought don't tell me anything about wrappers.

1. How can I change location and size of wrapper?
2. If I can't, can I delete the wrapper, and create a new one, or put in text and images without a wrapper?

Thanks!
Frank

Would you mind starting another thread if you have a new problem please? Thanks.

frankmoncrief
06-06-2009, 06:09 PM
OK. I'll study the documentation on CSS.

I have two other major questions, so I'll start a new thread for each.
Frank