PDA

View Full Version : Preview not displaying as shown im DW

Jac
05-25-2009, 10:37 AM
hello all,

I am very new to DW, and doing some basic practice for my new webpage.
I have a text AP Div which I want to align with an edge of another object. When i try to preview this in Firefox, the text is no longer aligned.
The text is supposed to be 2 lines long, and the preview is making 3, with one orphan word at the bottom.

any tips on what the heck is going on?

thanks!

Corrosive
05-25-2009, 10:39 AM
hello all,

I am very new to DW, and doing some basic practice for my new webpage.
I have a text AP Div which I want to align with an edge of another object. When i try to preview this in Firefox, the text is no longer aligned.
The text is supposed to be 2 lines long, and the preview is making 3, with one orphan word at the bottom.

any tips on what the heck is going on?

thanks!

Design view is a guide only. Browsers display sites in different ways so it can never be spot on. Welcome to the biggest headache of web design.

Jac
05-25-2009, 10:46 AM
oh no...
too bad!

thanks for your reply :)

Corrosive
05-25-2009, 10:48 AM
oh no...
too bad!

thanks for your reply :)

Yes, it sucks but as you get more experienced you will learn each browser's 'quirks'. It does get easier I promise.

Top tip; Make sure you keep looking at code/split view to see what DW is doing for you. Eventually you will end up using code view alone...but not quite yet.

Jac
05-25-2009, 10:53 AM
oh really? so that eventually becomes the easier/better way?
i guess if i want this website to become a real, live, working thing I will have to be able to do that stuff with my eyes closed.
thanks for the tip, I will definitely keep peeking in there and seeing whats going on...

thanks!

Corrosive
05-25-2009, 11:00 AM
oh really? so that eventually becomes the easier/better way?
i guess if i want this website to become a real, live, working thing I will have to be able to do that stuff with my eyes closed.