PDA

View Full Version : css text


richcodesign
05-22-2009, 03:55 PM
Im not sure what has happened to my text.
For some reason it has decided to become bold!
I have adjusted my style sheet to have all font weight as NORMAL.

Any ideas why this has happened. CSS is normally so good.
The website is www.drivestone.co.uk
(not quite finished yet)

richcodesign
05-22-2009, 04:00 PM
hmmmm... only seems to have an issue with firefox

Corrosive
05-22-2009, 04:01 PM
Im not sure what has happened to my text.
For some reason it has decided to become bold!
I have adjusted my style sheet to have all font weight as NORMAL.

Any ideas why this has happened. CSS is normally so good.
The website is www.drivestone.co.uk
(not quite finished yet)

It's not bold for me. Looks fine.

Corrosive
05-22-2009, 04:03 PM
hmmmm... only seems to have an issue with firefox

Have checked in FF and Chrome and, yes, FF weights it's fonts a bit more but I wouldn't say bold.

d a v e
05-22-2009, 06:01 PM
looks bold to me in firefox - the problem seems to be in your menu with the hacks in there for explorer - it's just not closing the <b>s from the nav list. if you check the page in ie8 it looks even more stuffed up as it throws all the remaining nav elements (after the first couple) down the left side of the page ;)

DWcourse
05-22-2009, 06:10 PM
Don't see the issue immediately but you've got a lot of junk code in there like:
<!--[if lte IE 6]><table><tr><td><![endif]--><!--[if lte IE 6]></td></tr></table></a><![endif]-->

And double line breaks rather than paragraphs. It might be easier to spot the issue if you clean things up first.

richcodesign
05-26-2009, 08:10 AM
thanks for your comments and help.

With regards to the JUNK in my css menu, i have had that made for me and just added to it and removed things not needed.

Should i remove all the rubbish eg.
<!--[if gte IE 7]><!--></a><!--<![endif]-->
<!--[if lte IE 6]><table><tr><td><![endif]-->
<!--[if lte IE 6]></td></tr></table></a><![endif]-->

d a v e
05-26-2009, 01:26 PM
ask whoever made if for you to fix it

DWcourse
05-26-2009, 02:03 PM
The [if lte IE 6] is just inserting empty tables which I can't imagine a purpose for. The [if gte IE 7] part is closing an anchor or link tag. It depends what else is there.

Cary
05-28-2009, 05:15 AM
The conditional tables allow menus to work in IE 6 without javascript. I believe Stuart Nicholls (of CSSplay) came up with this scheme because he could, not so much because it's good to use.