PDA

View Full Version : double float/margin bug IE6...possibly


Corrosive
05-19-2009, 04:42 PM
Hi all

I have been thinking about this for a good 20 mins now so I thought I'd cop out and see if one of you can help.

We use the jquery lavalamp menu on our website.

www.yotocreative.co.uk

The thing is that in IE6 I think I have fallen fowl of the double float/margin bug in my the nav list. This didn't matter too much but I have added a new page and this has pushed the 'contact us' link off the page (actually probably below the Home button but the effect is the same). I have tried a few things but wondered if anyone had a quick fix please?

Thanks

coloeagle
05-20-2009, 06:48 PM
Did you get this solved? I see no problem with ie6 on my pc.

Corrosive
05-20-2009, 06:52 PM
Did you get this solved? I see no problem with ie6 on my pc.

Do you see a 'contact us' link?

coloeagle
05-20-2009, 07:00 PM
Not on that pc at the moment. But, yes I did see it.

Corrosive
05-20-2009, 07:11 PM
Not on that pc at the moment. But, yes I did see it.

That's odd. Don't see it when I test here. :confused:

edbr
05-21-2009, 02:00 AM
checked with ie tester can see it in ie7 and 8 but not in 6

coloeagle
05-21-2009, 02:46 AM
That's odd. Don't see it when I test here. :confused:
I stand corrected :roll: I'll skip the details, but-----My helpful wife(bless her heart) upgraded my ie6 to ie7 thought she was doing me a favor because I am such a stickler for my browsers being upgraded and secure as possible.
Now off to remove 7 and go back to 6. :x

Corrosive
05-21-2009, 06:27 AM
I stand corrected :roll: I'll skip the details, but-----My helpful wife(bless her heart) upgraded my ie6 to ie7 thought she was doing me a favor because I am such a stickler for my browsers being upgraded and secure as possible.
Now off to remove 7 and go back to 6. :x

Ahhh, I see. Yes, it is fine in IE7 and above. Does anyone have any thoughts how to fix it in IE6? I'm sure it is the double margin bug because the menu has to be floated to get the lavalamp to work correctly and the links are double spaced....anyone??

edbr
05-21-2009, 07:54 AM
<- If IE6
Update
end if->

Corrosive
05-21-2009, 08:00 AM
<- If IE6
Update
end if->

Can I genuinely do that ed?

edbr
05-21-2009, 08:15 AM
no u wish :) but maybe a conditional statement of some kind to alter it in iE6, change spacing maybe

Corrosive
05-21-2009, 08:19 AM
no u wish :) but maybe a conditional statement of some kind to alter it in iE6, change spacing maybe

I thought you were being funny! Would be nice though.

I think I will have to go down the if route. Will keep you posted.

Cary
05-24-2009, 07:57 PM
Looks like you just need to remove the left margin from the floated links.

So, your ".lavaLampWithImage li a" selector currently has "margin: auto 10px;".

Change that to "margin: auto 0;" and add "padding: 0 10px;" to achieve the same result.