PDA

View Full Version : Please help


The Doctor
05-06-2009, 09:16 PM
I have a dreamweaver problem. I edit and slice my web page in photoshop and then import it into dreamweaver. The when i try to turn the slices into links i name them and then all my slices like move slightly making white in certain spots. Idk what to do or how to fix this any tips?

djshongo
05-06-2009, 09:38 PM
u import it as a HTML page from DW?

how are you trying to turn the slices into links..?

The Doctor
05-06-2009, 09:43 PM
ya i import it as html its a photoshop document.
I thinki i found out what it is a image spacer i think, it creates space between all my images how do i prevent this from happening or delete it?

Corrosive
05-06-2009, 09:58 PM
ya i import it as html its a photoshop document.
I thinki i found out what it is a image spacer i think, it creates space between all my images how do i prevent this from happening or delete it?

This is not the way to build a website. Exporting from Photoshop gives you a table based layout and loads of unnecessary images. This is probably what is causing your problems. Learn CSS and then build your site.

DWcourse
05-06-2009, 11:19 PM
Corrosive's right. Not the way to do it. But, when you make an image a link it ads a border around the image (arond the link actually) make sure you set the borders to none.

The Doctor
05-06-2009, 11:28 PM
You know how to put borders to none

The Doctor
05-06-2009, 11:30 PM
Wow nvm just set it to 0! Such a simple soulution thanks man!

DWcourse
05-06-2009, 11:32 PM
<img src="choke-sized.jpg" width="504" height="550" border="0" />

Should do it but better is a CSS style

.test {
border-width: 0px;
border-style: none;
}

DWcourse
05-06-2009, 11:33 PM
I'm afraid I might have helped you develop a bad habit though!

The Doctor
05-07-2009, 01:01 AM
Hahaah thanks anyway, Another question. If i want to type over my image in dreamweaver what should i do, do i use tables? Any other way?

DWcourse
05-07-2009, 01:21 AM
I'm not going to recommend tables. But you place type in a div that has a background image. Or even float a div with type over your image.

The Doctor
05-07-2009, 01:32 AM
ahah how do you float a div?

DWcourse
05-07-2009, 02:29 AM
To difficult a question to answer here. You need to start looking for some CSS positioning tutorials.

Corrosive
05-07-2009, 06:59 AM
I'm afraid I might have helped you develop a bad habit though!

Ha ha, sometimes it is better to say nothing at all! Honestly 'The Doctor' keep going down this path and you will have to start all over again. Learn the right way from the start.

The Doctor
05-07-2009, 09:07 PM
I started messing with things and have a new problem.When i go to insert pictures and images into dreamweaver, the picture seems to come up into rows and column with grid lines over them , how do i just get the one rigt sized picture to come up?