PDA

View Full Version : cant resize my pen tool shape, it just does the outline


silverglade
04-17-2009, 04:42 PM
i copied my pen tool shape to a different layer and when i try to shrink it down, it only shrinks the line and not the fill. any help greatly appreciated. thanks. derek

Rob_Che
04-17-2009, 06:45 PM
hmm.. I'm not sure I totally understand... but here goes...

1: So you created a shape with the pen tool, how did you fill it?
2: When you turn the layer on/off does the fill disappear as well as the line?
3: How did you 'copy' the layer contents ? Did you duplicate the layer?

Fill me in with more detail Derek...

silverglade
04-17-2009, 07:21 PM
i filled the pen tool outline by right clicking it and choosing "fill path".
when i turn the layer off and on, the shape outline shows when layer is off.
when i copied the layer, i right clicked on the background layer, and chose "duplicate layer" . when i try to resize either the background shape or the copied shape, it just resizes the outline and not the fill to go with it. i hope this helps. thanks for replying. derek

Rob_Che
04-17-2009, 07:48 PM
So it's a path, not a stroke ? ie; it's a thin grey line and not a colored line ?

silverglade
04-17-2009, 09:02 PM
right its a path not a stroke, its a thin gray line.

Rob_Che
04-18-2009, 01:54 PM
There you go then... You're resizing the path not the layer...

silverglade
04-18-2009, 06:36 PM
the only way i got it to resize both the path and the fill, is to use "shape layers" button at the top, it fills it as i go, then i can resize both the fill and the path at the same time. is that the only way to do it or can i do it with the "path" button selected filling it later on?

Rob_Che
04-18-2009, 07:55 PM
I'm not sure you understand what the path is...
http://www.elated.com/articles/photoshop-paths-explained/

silverglade
04-19-2009, 01:22 PM
thank you very much. here is one way i found from a message board.

"One way would be to make your foreground color the same color as your layer. Choose Shape Layers, make your path, then double click on the Shape Layer icon (not the mask) in the layers Panel.You can change it in the color picker to any color you want and it will fill. Then you can resize as you wish."

Rob_Che
04-19-2009, 01:27 PM
That's fine if you've filled it but your post made it sound as if it hadn't been filled if just the path was being resized.

You got it sorted then ?

silverglade
04-20-2009, 03:17 PM
yes thanks very much for the replies.:-D