View Full Version : AP-Div Help.

04-04-2009, 06:22 PM
Hi folks,

I have set up my website to use Divs to lay it out. One div in each page of the site contains the exact same data.

Currently, If I want to update that data, I have to go into each page separately and change it all manually.

I would like to have to change only one document however and each page containing that data will also change.

Is there any way that I can do this.

I am using CSS3

04-04-2009, 08:27 PM
Yes this can be done. Couple of ways to do this.
1. Includes
2. JavaScript

Depending on how your pages are built and what your host offers will depend on just which way you will need to do this.

With these you would have a single page containing the information and then on each of the pages of the site you would call for this information.

Just like an external style sheet... one page - one change changes everything

04-04-2009, 08:45 PM
My website is located here:

www.casiodev.co.nr (http://www.casiodev.co.nr)

The AP-Div is the Recently added downloads bit. I will not be able to use java as my host doesnt support it.

Could you please give me an example of some code for the APDiv.

Thanks again,

04-04-2009, 08:55 PM
JavaScript is user side not server side. It working is determined if a user has it enabled or disabled on their computer/browser.

Are you asking how one would go about setting the information in the following div?

<div class="style15" id="apDiv9">
<p align="center" class="style16"><u>Recently Added Downloads</u></p>
<p align="center" class="style16"><a href="Storage/casino.php">CASINO</a> by Distortion</p>
<p align="center" class="style16"><a href="Storage/simpsurd.php">SIMPSURD</a> by mintsmike</p>

04-04-2009, 08:58 PM
Yes, I would like that information to be accessed by every page of the website.

If there is some way that I can store that in a file that can be used globally, then that would be helpful.

Thanks in advance,

04-04-2009, 09:02 PM
Yes, let me find the post where this was explained how to do this.

04-04-2009, 09:10 PM
Here ya go, http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30362

04-04-2009, 09:13 PM
That thread explains JavaScript for doing this.

If your host supports php and your pages can interpret php then you can use php SSI(Server Side Includes)