PDA

View Full Version : Another FF/ IE problem


Kane
04-03-2009, 10:23 AM
Good morning


Here I am with another FF/ IE problem.

IE
http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3108/navbarie.jpg

FF
http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/8935/navbarff.jpg

With IE everything is placed where it should be.

If you have a look at FF you will see that the logo enters into the navigation bar.
Also, but we cannot see it in the image, when I click on the logo a white space appears in the lower part and this does not occur with IE. Itís not all that important but it does bother me.

mangofreak
04-03-2009, 12:25 PM
post your code

d a v e
04-03-2009, 01:04 PM
or even better, a url

Kane
04-03-2009, 02:42 PM
I don't have it in a server yet. I'll upload the page today and I'll post both the code and the URL

Thanks.

Corrosive
04-03-2009, 02:44 PM
I don't have it in a server yet. I'll upload the page today and I'll post both the code and the URL

Thanks.

No need to do both. A URL would be best :)

Kane
04-03-2009, 05:41 PM
Hi

I've been try al afternoon to upload my web, but I just can't get around to create the connexion.

Here is what I last tried. Please tell me how I must do it.


http://img235.imageshack.us/img235/5226/ftp.jpg

I was able to upload using another program, but I would prefer to upload with Dreamweaver.

You can see my problems here: http://inmenu.atwebpages.com

domedia
04-03-2009, 06:18 PM
ftp host is not 'http://'. They are mutually exclusive
You got host directory completely wrong as well, you did not insert the local directory.

There is no way this setup worked in another ftp client.
Your host will tell you exactly how to connect to your web space.

Kane
04-03-2009, 06:56 PM
Now I have it.
Placing innemu.atwebpages.com as the FTP host, nothing in the Host Directory, login and pass word.

I was doing a silly thing, here Iím sure youíre going to laugh at me butÖ
As the test button is next to Login once I had entered it I tested and obviously it could not make a connexion without the password :oops::oops:.

edbr
04-04-2009, 12:59 AM
good for you, every one stumbles sometimes

mangofreak
04-04-2009, 01:45 AM
Oye muchachon, you have to tidy up your CSS code. I made a few changes to it and it works now in both.


* {text-indent:0px ; margin:5px ; padding:0px ; border:0px}
p {text-align: justify}
h1 {font-size: 1.2em; color:red ; font-weight: bold ; text-decoration: underline ;
text-align: center}
h2 {font.size: 1.1em; color:red ; font-weight: bold ; text-decoration: none ;
text-align: center}
body {background-color: #F5F5F5 ; background-image: url(objetos/whitblurbackground.jpg)}
#global {width:100% ; margin:4px auto }
#cabecera {height:142px;width:100%; margin-bottom:15px;}
#logotipo {width:155px ; float:left }
#publicidad {width:518px ; float:right ; margin-top:25px ; font-size: 16px }
#navegacion {background-color: #F5F5F5; border: black 1px solid; padding-top:4px; padding-bottom:4px; }
#navegacion li {
list-style:none;
margin: 0px 10px 5px 10px;
display: inline;
}
#navegacion ul {
margin-left: 50px;
}
#contenido {background-color: #F5F5F5}
#contenido p {margin: 5px 10px 0px 10px ; text-indent: 15px}
#pie {background-color: #F5F5F5 ; border-left: black 1px solid ; border-right: black 1px solid ;
border-top: black 1px solid ; height: 65px }
#copyright { background-color: #F5F5F5}
a {color: brown ; text-decoration:none ; display: inline }
a:link {}
a:visited {}
a:hover {color:red ; text-decoration:underline ; background-color: silver}
a:active {}
#logotipo a {}
#logotipo a:link {}
#logotipo a:visited {}
#logotipo a:hover {background-color: white }/*WHY DO YOU NEED THIS*/
#logotipo a:active {}


Saludos,

Javier

Kane
04-05-2009, 07:59 PM
Thanks a lot mangofreak for your help.

Why I do this #logotipo a:active {}
To be honest with you I must say that I donít know for sure.
I thought that this was what redirected you to the home page when you clicked on the logo.

I have spent the weekend reading about CSS and HTML and even at that I am sure that Iíll still have A LOT of problems.
I sure hope you folks will not give up on me, we elders have a slower learning curve.

I am wondering can you tell me how could you see the CSS if I did not post it, I only gave my URL. I knew that we could see the HTML but the CSS

Thank you

Kane
04-05-2009, 10:14 PM
#logotipo a:hover {background-color: white }/*WHY DO YOU NEED THIS*/

Now I can tell you. When you click on the logo do space seen (if you see one is white and not gray). At present in FF if you click on the logo you will notice a small white space just below the logo, if I did not have "background-color: white" it would be gray.