PDA

View Full Version : CSS Opacity Woes

Blue_Vision
04-02-2009, 02:16 AM
Ok, so... I'm just learning css and rebuilding my quickly thrown together and slow loading apple iweb site into a proper dreamweaver site. However, in iWeb... apple seems to have found a way that I can have opacity set to say 70 in the css (I add a filter to for IE) and it only affect the one element I'm working with. IOW... I have a tiled background with a solid colored square semi-transparent where I can put the text etc and the tiled background can still be seen slightly underneath. But I don't want the text or anything else effected.

When I do this in dreamweaver using almost the same css and html for that particular thing it makes it so everything else that I'm adding to the page is also semi-transparent. I've read this is a normal behavior and that there are little work arounds but all of them seem to have problems with different browsers from what I hear (clear text etc). So... any ideas on how apple is accomplishing this with its iweb sites or any ideas on how I should do it? I keep searching through apples code but I see nothing different that stands out other then the fact that they reference a GIANT .js at the top of the page and maybe that controls things somehow?

I can't post the site here because its a commercial site and I don't have permission to do that but if you would like to see the current iweb source code or what I'm trying to accomplish then you can PM me or email me at blue_vision@mac.com and I'll give you a link to the site.

Otherwise... any tips on how to best solve my problem so I can continue re-writting this in dreamweaver would be appreciated :)

edbr
04-02-2009, 02:59 AM
its does sound like the javascript is doing it. whether apple ,DW or notepad its all just a question of code.
i would rather make the image transparent in a photo editor and then use it as background

Blue_Vision
04-02-2009, 03:22 AM