PDA

View Full Version : learning from the professionals?

silverglade
03-30-2009, 05:36 PM
hi again. i am now studying professionally done templates and realizing now that im a css and photoshop newbie still even after 6 months. but at least im recognizing it. heres what im doing now. i open up the psd file in photoshop and study how they made it. then i open the index.html file and the css page and click in design view the design divs and various elements, and look at the css in the top right of dreamweaver. then i also use firebug to do the same thing. i stare at the code until i start to get a grasp of how the person used css on the page, so that i can reuse those techniques in my pages. im still not sure how im going to make full sites yet by studying the templates, (any ideas?) but i think i am making progress even though all im doing right now is staring at the page's css and design elements. do you think i should be doing anything else in addition? any help greatly appreciated again. thanks for all of the great suggestions before. derek:mrgreen:

davidj
03-30-2009, 05:53 PM
templates are just another car on the road

you need to learn the road.

ok

pointers

go and checkout sites you like and do a screen grab of them

then using dreamweaver try to replicate them {<< ok for learning} using the Code View

silverglade
03-30-2009, 08:28 PM
ok great thank you.:)

wayne78
04-22-2009, 11:43 AM
the w3schools is a good starting point at www.w3schools.com you can learn css and html for free you could also look at dreamweaver tutorials on you tube there are loads and well worth it...hope this helps.

Rob_Che
04-23-2009, 11:57 AM
Deconstucting a complex template will send you crazy. Do some basic CSS layout tutorials and learn the box model.

Google is your friend.

domedia
05-09-2009, 07:30 PM
Six months is a long time..
I think you should change your approach.

davidj
05-09-2009, 07:35 PM
steer away from 100% heights though!

Rob_Che
05-09-2009, 07:56 PM