PDA

View Full Version : DWCS4 Newbie needs help

CRey
03-25-2009, 11:09 AM
Hi all,
I am new to DW and have the following problem. I applogise if this is covered elsewhere but I have looked around to no avail.
I have been happily developing a site for a while now and have created a Spry menue bar for nav etc. The problem is that I have started to use php includes for this menu and other common code (I have some links in the sidebar for instance). The issue is that for some reason DW has stopped showing me the results of the include in design view and instead displays the gold php shield instead. This is happening for all my includes.
The site looks and works fine in a browser testing localy using XAMPP.
It's a real pain to edit without seeing the item in design view.
I am pretty sure when I put my first include in it showed up ok in design view, if it hadn't I wouldn't have carried on putting them in other pages. I must be honest and say I'm doubting myself now though :roll: .

I'm told that the include php code must be in a blockm of it's own or this problem will occur,, it is.
Anyone any ideas? Have I done something daft :wink: ?\
Is the a setting I have accidently changed? I've searched help and have a copy of essential gude but can't find anything. :(

Any ideas greatly appreciated.

Regards
Clive

domedia
03-26-2009, 03:01 PM
If it works fine in your browser locally though XAMP, I don;t really see the problem.. Design View should not be used to check if it looks ok in browser.

CRey
03-26-2009, 04:38 PM
If it works fine in your browser locally though XAMP, I don;t really see the problem.. Design View should not be used to check if it looks ok in browser.

Thanks for your input domedia. I totaly agree with your comments.