PDA

View Full Version : DW getting "Mysql error 2003"

tbum18
03-23-2009, 06:43 PM
First I would like to let you all know that I am an amateur with Dreamweaver and especially php code. I used the tutorial on creating dynamic dropdown menus, it help a lot. With the help of a fellow employee we were able to get it working as you can see if you go to my website www.suspensiongeek.com (http://www.suspensiongeek.com/). Look up your car see how it works.

Second, Im not here to sell anyone anything off my site, unless you find something you do really need.

Third, if this ends up long winded Im sorry. I prefer to explain to the best of my knowledge so I dont waste your time.

Since my site is working it is obvious that it is accessing mysql server and querying the information needed to do the look up and display it on the site.

Here is where my problems begins. I want to create pages that need a login and password to access. As you know to do this the login needs to access a table in my database to gain access. This seems to be straight forward to create using the tools in dreamweaver.

It requires me to set up a database link. This also seems pretty easyexcept when I do this it comes up with Mysql error 2003 Ive done some searching on the web. It appears that my windows XP maybe blocking dreamweaver access to my server. I know I have the correct server address, user name and password since my site is using my own dbconfig for database connection and it is working.

Ive turned off the XP firewall and enabled all security setting in XP in an effort to get dreamweaver to make a database connection. I even tried making the connection to the localhost and then creating the pages, publishing them to the web, with the thinking I could just edit the code on those pages to point to the remote server. Of course with no luck.

I need help getting past the Mysql error 2003 in order to get dreamweaver linked to my databases in order to continue creating my website.