PDA

View Full Version : Yes, you will hate me! Urgent Help needed with code issues.

Blue_Vision
03-23-2009, 02:08 AM
I'm SOOOO sorry for posting this here as I know it doesn't belong but... nobody knows anything about code etc where I should ask it.

I'm learning dreamweaver pretty decently. Meaning... if someone gives me there site I can edit it etc for them, add flash etc. But, I'm just learning how to create a site from the ground up. HOWEVER, I needed to create a site right away and didn't have time to learn all the coding. So I built it in iWeb because I've done this in the past and tweaked the code to suit my needs. iWeb creates things like a joke and I realize that but I was doing it to get by for a couple weeks until I can take my exact design in iweb and recode it entirely in dreamweaver so it works fast and proper.

Problem. In iweb '08 I created a background shape with text on it (square) and lowered the opacity to about 70 so you could see the background tiling through the background shape. Now, in the CSS this creates an "opacity" value that is only compatible with Safari etc and IE 7 ignored it (although I found that I could add the filter alpha value under it so there is transparency in IE 7). So, bottom line is a website with the background square with wording having transparency in everything but explorer. Explorer didn't do anything weird to the page for having the opacity value... it just ignored it.

Then I upgraded to iweb '09 because it was supposed to have better code for IE 8 when its out of beta or whatever.