PDA

View Full Version : css newbie really needs help.

ThePicklePatch
03-03-2009, 10:44 PM
Hi,

I am making changes to my site, http://www.thepicklepatch.net. I am totally new at this, and learning as I go. I didn't know anything about css when I started.

Now that I am changing the look of my site, I realize css would of made these changes easier.

I have made efforts to learn, but confused about the code and terms. When, how, and why are they used.

My page layout is in tables, and not sure how to code my body, header, footer, and and navigation bar so they will be consistant on every page.

Could someone look at my site and explain to me in simple terms how to do this?

Dreamweaver has a HeaderImages box, is it better to use them or use a table for my header, and why.

Thank you, Linda

edbr
03-04-2009, 12:12 AM
yes it is definitely better to get away from tables, reasons have been layed out in a sticky notice but not sure which category, sorry just have a quick check.
you are using classes i see so you have made a step if you were to make divs such as footer navbar etc you coulc place elements in them and style them as you wiish. As for site consistency using an impoted css sheet (as you do) will achieve this.

ThePicklePatch
03-04-2009, 12:37 AM
edbr, thanks for the reply.

Are you saying it is best to use divs instead of tables, or do I put the divs into the tables.
As you can see, I really need this explained to me, as I am going crazy trying to figure it out.

Thanks, Linda

edbr
03-04-2009, 12:49 AM
tables are for tabular data. it is better not to use them for general layout, (in mine and many others opinion)
so yes use divs not tables. we can help you if you need it as we all bang on about this :)

ThePicklePatch
03-04-2009, 01:15 AM
Okay, divs it is.

Bring on the help, with a lot of patience, please.

I changed my header from a table to a div. using Modify>Convert>Tables to Divs.