PDA

View Full Version : Div header background img not showing in FF

bhan
02-27-2009, 10:18 AM
Hey,
I am a newbie here but i would really appreciate your help.

I have been trying to find a solution to this problem for days. I have very little experience making web pages, actually thats a lie i have no experience making webpages and i am blindly swinging in the dark trying to fix my problem. I am using dreamweaver to build the website.
In IE the images on my page in the div header and div footer backgrounds show up no problem, but in firefox they dont show up at all.
I have tried all sorts of things margins, padding, z-values...
i dont really know what im doing and i feel like there is a simple solution to this.

Below is the .css code im using.
.oneColFixCtrHdr #header {
background-color: #FCF;
background-image: url(file://///hal/Users/elanor/My%20Documents/LISSADELL%20WEB%20FEB%2025/images/Lissadell%20corn%20lilly%20by%20Pamela%20Cassidy.j pg);
background-position: 0px -36px;
background-repeat: no-repeat;
margin: 0px;
padding: 0px;
} and the .html
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Lissadell House and Gardens Sligo</title>
<link href="oneColFixCtrHdr.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<style type="text/css">
<!--
body {
background-color: #033;
}
-->
</style>
<script src="SpryAssets/SpryMenuBar.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<link href="SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarHorizontal.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>

<body class="oneColFixCtrHdr" id="m1">

<div id="container">
<div id="header">
<h1>&nbsp;</h1>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<!-- end #header --></div> I would really appreciate any help as i am starting to crack up!!
thanks

Corrosive
02-27-2009, 11:01 AM
This path looks a bit dodgy...