PDA

View Full Version : Rotating Images from a Directory

Butters
02-16-2009, 05:48 PM
Hi. I've been searching for JavaScript to rotate the main image on my home page every few seconds. My needs were:

-instead of listing every image path to the script, I want to be able to just add images to a directory, and have the script automatically rotate whatever is in that directory.

-i don't want to use php because i want to keep this page as the index.html page for search engines.

-Includes a 'noscript' plan if javascript isn't enabled.

I found a ton of scripts but they all satisfy two necessities but not the third. I just tried using the script at...

http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29012

...but then I realized that it only rotates on reload. I've tried adding lines like var delay = 3000 (I'm a photographer, not a programmer) but to no avail. Do someone know how to do this? It's easy to find PHP that will pull anything from a directory and rotate in a specified amount of time--but how about JavaScript?

Thanks.
Brandon

davidj
02-16-2009, 07:27 PM
you can do this in flash

domedia
02-16-2009, 10:02 PM
-i don't want to use php because i want to keep this page as the index.html page for search engines. Search Engines does not rank .html file extensions better or higher or anything. Fire the person that told you so. :-)

If you don't know JavaScript, consider using a framework like jQuery, which makes it easy for designers to use all kinds of great effects.

you can do this in flash You could probably do it with a Java applet as well, but nothing beats some unobtrusive JavaScript that degrades gracefully. 8-)

Butters
02-17-2009, 05:13 AM
It's not about the .html page type, it's about the fact that index.html is the root of the website, and index.php isn't. Although there isn't much on this page anyway, so it might not make much difference for me.