PDA

View Full Version : Flash not running


NM1972
02-16-2009, 07:55 AM
HI,

Made flash image menu and display in lightroom, this created 4 files and 2 foleders, added these to the site in a folder with the html page.

Click on the swf file and the thing works, will not play in DW and not display in IE

To confuse things I made a different lightroom flash for a differnt site and it works, I have compared the two and dont know what is wrong.

bad code is atttached

<td class="none"><script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','name','wedding images','width','800','height','650','id','wedding images','title','flash','src','../photo_gallery/weddings/viewer','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash','movi e','../photo_gallery/weddings/viewer' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" name="wedding images" width="800" height="650" id="wedding images" title="flash">
<param name="movie" value="../photo_gallery/weddings/viewer.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<embed src="../photo_gallery/weddings/viewer.swf" width="800" height="650" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" name="wedding images"></embed>
</object></noscript></td>
</tr>

coloeagle
02-16-2009, 01:34 PM
You have the flash inside a noscript tag. It will only show if JS is disabled or unavailable.

domedia
02-16-2009, 05:01 PM
You have the flash inside a noscript tag. It will only show if JS is disabled or unavailable.
True, but the JavaScript ahead of it will write out all the needed tags if JavaScript is enabled.

coloeagle
02-16-2009, 05:07 PM
Ahhh, so it will.

Ok, I may be missing something here then.

Why the use of JS?
Should work if all the JS stuff and noscript tags were removed.

NM1972
02-16-2009, 08:13 PM
Which are the none script tags and how do I fix it, sorry just starting out.

thanks:mrgreen:

Ricky55
02-16-2009, 08:25 PM
<noscript></noscript>

I would just use SWF OBJECT to embed your swf's.

Do a search on the forum there have been numerous posts about this.

NM1972
02-16-2009, 08:39 PM
Thanks does it make a differnce if Im using CS3

domedia
02-16-2009, 10:04 PM
Ahhh, so it will.

Ok, I may be missing something here then.

Why the use of JS?
It's the IE 'click to activate' issue. You get around it by having JS write the front end code.

Ricky55
02-17-2009, 05:05 PM
No CS3 is fine, CS4 is better though for embedding SWF files as it uses SWF object by default and it also includes express install.

NM1972
02-17-2009, 07:47 PM
Thanks, got it going, have a look and let me know if there is anything that needs fixing, not sure about the meta tabs?

http://www.nigelmatthews.com.au/photo_gallery/studio/studio.html

thanks

Ricky55
02-17-2009, 08:08 PM
The flash looks good but the design of your site is too big, for users with lower resolutions half of it will be missing, not good when you are selling anything but especially bad when you're photographer.

At 1024 x 768 they will only see as far as the woman with long ginger hair.

Your navigation and header could take up much less space.

edbr
02-18-2009, 01:43 AM
1024 x 768 IMO is a good medium resolution to aim at. the menu font could be a little smaller, the images at the top could start further to the left.
these may help you reduce the width generally. the background of the flash would perhaps look better a bit smaller (right margin of the photos)