PDA

View Full Version : DIV tag starting on Navigation bar using FF


zac2290
02-15-2009, 07:20 PM
Hello!

I'm hoping you guys can help! I threw up a quick website the same way I usually do (div tags and css) with the exception, I used dreamweavers tool to insert a nav bar with rollover imaging. The site is www.zacattackscomputers.com/index2.html

The problem I'm having, is that in IE, it displays fine, but when you view it with FF, it seems as if the website (or #main_content_holder div tag) starts at the navigation bar.

Any ideas as to why this is happening?

Thanks in advance!

Zac

coloeagle
02-15-2009, 07:47 PM
You have your nav_bar set to be displayed on top of your logo_area.

Is this what you want or are you wanting it just below the logo?

zac2290
02-15-2009, 11:54 PM
It is? I want it to be at the bottom middle of the logo_area. It displays how I want it to in IE, just not FF. the div that the nav bar sits in is inside the logo area spaced 130px from the top and 100 from the left. Inside that contains my nav bar which SHOULD fit perfectly inside that premade div tag

Where in the code for my nav bar is it set to the top of my logo area? And what do I need to change it to?

Thank you for your help!

domedia
02-16-2009, 02:35 AM
Collapsing margins.
You need to set #nav_bar to use padding-top instead of margin-top

zac2290
02-16-2009, 05:32 AM
w000t!

That did the trick, thank you very much domedia! =D

Rob_Che
02-16-2009, 12:27 PM
Collapsing margins.
You need to set #nav_bar to use padding-top instead of margin-top
I havent set a top margin in a long time since our little chat DoMedia :wink:

domedia
02-16-2009, 05:56 PM
w000t!

That did the trick, thank you very much domedia! =D
Excellent! I remember first time I experienced this, I thought it was a bug or something..

I havent set a top margin in a long time since our little chat DoMedia :wink: We can do it again, anytime :)

Rob_Che
02-16-2009, 09:12 PM
Cheers DoMedia :)