PDA

View Full Version : buying a laptop

Mark Ryan
02-07-2009, 02:59 AM
I'm a student with a budget of $650. I'm looking to purchase my first laptop so I can learn how to use Dreamweaver and Fireworks. I'm planning on purchasing the whole Design Premium CS4 so I can learn the other applications later on.

1. What kind of CPU should I be looking for - Intel or AMD?
2. What kind of video card should I be looking for - ATI, Intel, or nVidia?
3. In your experiences, is a 15" easy to work with or should I go with a 17"?
4. Is there a specific laptop that you recently purchased that you're happy with? I might be able to go a little over my budget.

Thank you

davidj
02-07-2009, 05:37 PM
look at the best spec you can afford

XanXus
02-07-2009, 09:48 PM
Im sure that a 15" would do the job, processors and graphics card brands aint much difference really if your doing it for that kind of job, they only matter when your like gaming and stuff.

davidj
02-07-2009, 11:26 PM
When multi tasking with browsers graphics code etc screen size is an impotant aspect of the job
I suggest a big screen and an additional monitor if you can afford it

logomania24
02-18-2009, 08:36 AM
I'm a student with a budget of $650. I'm looking to purchase my first laptop so I can learn how to use Dreamweaver and Fireworks. I'm planning on purchasing the whole Design Premium CS4 so I can learn the other applications later on.

1. What kind of CPU should I be looking for - Intel or AMD?
2. What kind of video card should I be looking for - ATI, Intel, or nVidia?
3. In your experiences, is a 15" easy to work with or should I go with a 17"?
4. Is there a specific laptop that you recently purchased that you're happy with? I might be able to go a little over my budget.

Thank you

:confused:
I too am planning on buying a laptop.. though i have no idea on which specs to find...