PDA

View Full Version : DW div issue


Creativ_Mind
02-04-2009, 04:07 AM
hello all. I have recently created a PS layout and sliced and export it into dreamweaver for my hubby. I used a div to position text where I want it to be. when I preview it in the browser, the text is positioned in the center instead of in the left box. Please check this site here www.gracebeats.com and you can see what I am saying. Please, if anyone knows what to do, please let me know. I have been having a hard time with this for a while. thanks!!:(

domedia
02-04-2009, 07:48 AM
Hi creative mind and welcome to the forums!
you have to make your images backgrounds to be able to put content into them. I think the slice portion of PS might have put you off a little. You have to know the basics of how HTML and CSS works before you put it into work.
Exporting slices like that from PS might give you a nice layout to look at, but you cannot make it a website with content that way.

Can anyone explain the basics of making a web page with deign from PS using slices?

walkamongus
02-05-2009, 07:47 PM
Can anyone explain the basics of making a web page with deign from PS using slices?

no, but this guy seems to be able to...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEjLciNRC8s&feature=PlayList&p=6AB99A9D9B942950&index=3

Ricky55
02-05-2009, 09:32 PM
I wouldn't advise following video tutorials on You Tube, some of the ones I've seen on there are by complete idiots teaching really bad methods.

You can export for PS or Fireworks in this manner but it creates a table based layout just full of images which is really bad practice.

As Dom says use CSS and Divs and some tuts from this site or decent video tuts from Lynda.com.

To align text left within a Div you use

text-align: left;

But unless you have said otherwise this is the default.

Ricky55
02-05-2009, 09:44 PM
Just been looking at your file its a complete mess, you can't float something and then tell it to be absolutely positioned.

Also when using position absolute you need to set something for it to be relative to. At the moment you haven't specified so its just using the HTML element which will give you really unreliable results.

You are trying to use a mixture here of table based layout with some crazy CSS scraps thrown in.

I would suggest you take a step back and learn the proper way of doing things.