PDA

View Full Version : CSS/Dreamweaver: Question about adding pages and some things not changing with css changes.

dreamweaverntn
01-23-2009, 02:17 AM
Hi,
I'm new to CSS but very good with Dreamweaver.
I am learning to build sites with the included layouts in DW.
I don't understand a couple of things and wondered if you could help.

#1 BUILDING NEW PAGES.
File, new html layout, new css file created.
I know how to "link" the new css page from the css panel. But, I don't understand, using css, how you "build" additional pages? Just change the content and save as?
If so, then for example, you want to change the background color of you site, as a whole.
Without directly modifying the css code on the css page, you have to work thru DW design view.
So, in design view WHICH page do you make the changes on that are to be saved on the css stylesheet and linked to other pages? and how are those changes saved back to the css file?

I've tried this making two new pages (save as and rename).
And the other pages change when I make a change on one as it is reflected in the CSS page.

#2: Some things don't change on other pages.
Some things don't change if you change on one page. The page background color for instance. I can change it on one page and it doesn't change on the others that are linked to the same css page.
Why is that? What am I doing wrong?

Thank you!

edbr
01-23-2009, 02:39 AM
try refreshing your browser

Corrosive
01-23-2009, 06:20 AM
Hi,
I'm new to CSS but very good with Dreamweaver.
I am learning to build sites with the included layouts in DW.
I don't understand a couple of things and wondered if you could help.

#1 BUILDING NEW PAGES.
File, new html layout, new css file created.
I know how to "link" the new css page from the css panel. But, I don't understand, using css, how you "build" additional pages? Just change the content and save as?
If so, then for example, you want to change the background color of you site, as a whole.