PDA

View Full Version : Wordpress


Rob_Che
01-04-2009, 09:55 AM
Here is Africano's question re Wordpress...

Im trying to setup a wordpress site for a group of friends and I cant seem to figure out the navigation etc. Ive got a home and an about link.

Then I have Featured content links...but I cant seem to change them: then when I add categories I get more links underneath the main nav but above the featured content....

Can you have a look:
http://www.elchevirtual.com/ellocal/

How can i set this up?

I have done a few Wordpress sites now and, as it's a dynamic site, it regularly confuses the hell out of me too!

It looks like you have 3 items in the nav bar now - did you figure it out? You can hardcode the nav bar straight into the header using the editor on the site if you don't need to test it locally (but save a copy down to your PC)

I assume the design is from a template? The featured sections will be pulling info from previous posts you have made but looking at the HTML it will need to be changed manually - I can't see any dynamic code that tells me it's pulling the 'latest' posts for example. I think you will need to go into the code ad change the images and links manually, unless I've missed something.

Post any specific problems that you're still having Africano - let's get this working. I'll help wherever i can.

Cheers
Rob

domedia
01-04-2009, 04:30 PM
I don't see the problem.. Africano can you rehprase?

africano
01-08-2009, 10:35 PM
Im sorry guys...Ill try and update update this thread when I get some time...Im busy with a move(moved cities) and other things...Im still having the problem and would like to keep this thread open....

Basically Im after something like this(theyve used the same template):

http://www.sitesmarty.com/tamarindoreview/

Theyre featured articles pull up info....I cant seem to achieve the same....Ill update more in depth when I have some more time...cheers!!!

Rob_Che
01-09-2009, 03:42 PM
No worries Africano... just dig the thread up when you're around...
Good luck with the move.

africano
01-12-2009, 09:20 PM
Hi ya.

Im modifying the template for an NGO...its a small job, a good oportunity for me to learn wordpress.... Although I must admit sometimes it really confuses me....

At the moment Im trying to get my featured articles to match up. Ive got the links and the post but they are all incorrect.

Republica should show post Republica
Mozambique should show post Mozambique....and so on

This is not happening and I dont(after a lot of time) understand how its calling the posts.... Any help appreciated....Rob if you need to see the code let me know,
cheers to all!
LINK:: http://www.elchevirtual.com/ellocal/

africano
01-13-2009, 12:55 PM
Im really at a loss, I just cant see where and how its pulling the info....staring at the code is NOT fun....

:confused:

africano
01-13-2009, 07:35 PM
Rob_Che....when you have sometime Id aprreciate it if you can help me out.......cheers!

wordpress is cool but right now Im finding it real confusing!

Rob_Che
01-15-2009, 11:09 AM
Hey africano... busybusybusy !

The code for the 'featured' section is:

<b><a href="http://www.sitesmarty.com/tamarindoreview/?p=9" rel="bookmark">Best Seafood In Town</a></b>
<p>Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget...&nbsp;<a href='http://www.sitesmarty.com/tamarindoreview/?p=9'></a></p>
<div style="border-bottom:1px dotted #7E2C0E; margin-bottom:10px; padding:0px 0px 10px 0px; clear:both;"></div>


I can't see (but I'm no expert) that there is any dynamic code in there at all... it looks like hard-coded HTMl to me... I say just hardcode your featured sections in.

What are you aiming to do, pull random content into there?

Can anyone else assist ?

Rob

africano
01-15-2009, 09:35 PM
Hey Rob_ cheers for the reply. Ive had a look at your code and then at my template code.

What mine does is pulls the lates post assigened to the category.
So what Ive done is re write my posts in the correct order so now the links match to the posts.

Not efficient I know, but I think its the easiest way to fix my problem now. I dont know how to edit the code to make it do what I want, although Ive stored some articles on the web about how to modify the way wordpress orders posts etc(will read em when I have some more time)

Ive got another problem now. In my categories Ive got different posts and an image next to the p˛sts. This image is the same for all posts in the category.
Id like to be able to assign different images to each post title.
heres a link to my test setup so you can see what I mean:
http://www.elchevirtual.com/ellocal/

If you Rob or anyone else knows anything about ordering posts or making a fixed post in wordpress please share, cheers

Here is the code for a category incase its usefull to see how it assigns images:

<div class="featured">
<h2>Noticias</h2>

<!--This is where the thumbnails are found for the homepage bottom section - note the custom field name for this image is "thumbnail". Recommended image size is 70x70, as the stylesheet is written for this size.-->

<?php $recent = new WP_Query("cat=8&showposts=3"); while($recent->have_posts()) : $recent->the_post();?>
<?php if( get_post_meta($post->ID, "thumbnail", true) ): ?>
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark"><img style="float:left;margin:0px 10px 0px 0px;" src="<?php echo get_post_meta($post->ID, "thumbnail", true); ?>" alt="alt text" /></a>
<?php else: ?>
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark"><img style="float:left;margin:0px 10px 0px 0px;" src="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/images/thumbnail_test.jpg" alt="Default thumbnail" /></a>
<?php endif; ?>
<b><a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark"><?php the_title(); ?></a></b>
<?php the_content_limit(80, ""); ?>

<div style="border-bottom:1px dotted #94B1DF; margin-bottom:10px; padding:0px 0px 10px 0px; clear:both;"></div>

<?php endwhile; ?>

<!--This is where you can specify the archive link for each section.-->

<b><a href="ENTER CATEGORY URL HERE" rel="bookmark">More Featured Category Posts</a></b>

</div>

Rob_Che
01-15-2009, 09:50 PM
Silly question but have you tried entering a category URL where it says "ENTER CATEGORY URL HERE" ??

africano
01-17-2009, 01:08 AM
Hey Rob. Im slowly getting there....just hacking away at it really but learning in the process.

The "category URL where it says "ENTER CATEGORY URL HERE" only takes me to the category for the posts and displays all post in that category.

Right now Ive got everything more or less assigned how its supposed to be. The problem is still the images. Take a look. http://www.elchevirtual.com/ellocal/

For eacg post inside a category Ide like a different thumbnail. Currently, all post in a category share the same thumbnail.

*** Id like to make it possible for someone to become a memeber of the ngo online, so for example click on a banner and your taken to a online form which you fill out and the ngo receives in their email.
Ive got pommo on my hosting package and have it installed etc but Ive hardly ever touched it.
Is this possible to do with pommo...any guide lines...do I write the form in html(INPUT BOXES HOW?┐) are there any templates..?┐
Cheers guys.. and Gud Night! :)