PDA

View Full Version : Text shifted to right in sidebar using Dw template

elainehightower
12-30-2008, 12:51 AM
Hi,

I am new at this.

I am trying to build a vertical navigation bar in the left column based on a Dw template (2 column fixed, left sidebar, header and footer).

The text within the sidebar is centered, but shifting to the right a little as if it is being pushed by something invisible on the left-hand side of the div. I can't see anything in the div for the sidebar or the container that I can figure out that would make it behave that way.

Here's what the code looks like... email me if you want a screen shot of what it looks like in Dw.

<div id="sidebar1">
<ul>
<li>about</li>
<li>beach condos</li>
<li>lake house</li>
<li>reservations</li>
<li>links</li>
</ul>
<!-- end #sidebar1 --></div>

Thanks for any help with this! I really appreciate it!

Elaine

edbr
12-30-2008, 01:49 AM
not sure but check padding for the sidebar

Corrosive
12-30-2008, 07:17 AM
not sure but check padding for the sidebar

Some elements in web design have automatic padding and margins. Unordered lists is one of them. Have you tried adding ul {margin: 0; padding: 0;} to your CSS?

elainehightower
12-30-2008, 10:29 AM
thanks! 0 padding, 0 margins did it. after I went to bed I started thinking that I should have sent the css along as well as the code, thank you so much. I am taking classes on lynda.com (as well as real classes when I can afford them) and lynda.com is great but I get stuck sometimes and really need to be able to ask questions. I am so glad I found this forum!

Corrosive
12-30-2008, 10:55 AM
thanks! 0 padding, 0 margins did it. after I went to bed I started thinking that I should have sent the css along as well as the code, thank you so much. I am taking classes on lynda.com (as well as real classes when I can afford them) and lynda.com is great but I get stuck sometimes and really need to be able to ask questions. I am so glad I found this forum!